Pooh pooh!

Standard

Nope, this isn’t a post about A.A. Milne’s beloved bear. The title quotes my very favorite page in children’s literature – Ludwig Bemelman’s spunky boarding-school girl showing disdain for a tiger in the zoo.

I’m referring, of course, to Madeline.

Madeline holds a spot in my trifecta of children’s hall-of-fame characters. My hall-of-fame loved books from a young age where Madeline, Curious George, and Freight Train, by Bemelmans, H.A. Rey, and Donald Crews, respectively. Other books became “favorites” as I aged, but these were the first three, the favorite three, the Holy Trinity of this young girl’s library.

So a tip of the hat to my friend G who sent me this link from NPR.

And I’ve never made it to the Bemelmans Bar at New York’s Carlyle Hotel, but I’m going to get there. It will be my Madeline experience coming full circle. Baby bottles and Madeline, and a crisp martini and more of the author’s illustrations.

Leave a Reply

