A late-night update

Standard

Well, well, chickadees, it’s been a few days since I’ve posted, but as I’ve been busier than a one-armed paperhanger, I hope you’ll forgive me.

Here are a few highlights of the past coupla days:

  • Reading Madeline’s Rescue to a bunch of visiting three-year-olds. I figured I needed the practice, and I tried to make it as interactive as possible, asking questions about the story and characters. I think it went quite well, for an early effort, and they were adorably engaged.
  • Leading a design challenge program for six- to -ten-year-olds to help them craft windmills and understand how they worked. We had a good turnout with enthusiastic, participatory parents, which makes all the difference. And it was a Friday afternoon, too!
  • I worked one-on-one with some teens in the Teen Space on creating resumes and cover letters, and talking to them about interviews, and realized that they had absolutely no background in school or elsewhere about how to create and/or format them. While there are some branches in our system that have regular drop-in job clinics, on a weekly or monthly basis, I want to schedule one specifically for teens at our branch in the spring, just in time for them to apply for summer jobs. My coworkers have been very supportive and enthusiastic, and have lots of great ideas about who to contact, where to have the workshop – it hadn’t even occurred to me to have it in the computer lab, because, obviously – and how to schedule it. I’m thrilled that they’re so supportive.
  • We had a training that I felt was ridiculously unnecessary about changes coming to our circulation system. We sat for 3 hours listening to a lousy presentation, when I think a PowerPoint emailed to us would have sufficed. At least we all suffered together.
  • This is a bit self-congratulatory, but it’s been so much fun to tell my non-librarian friends about what I’m doing. I know they can see the excitement and enthusiasm in me, and a friend even commented that I’m becoming the perfect librarian. It’s so fulfilling to be doing something I love, every single day. And when my friend P came to visit the other day, he laughed to see me so in my element.
  • Finally, I know what I’m being for Halloween! A pirate. Or maybe a cat. I’m a little lazy this year on the literary character front (I could look really pale and wan and go as Beth March… too soon?), but next year, oh, yes, next year, I have great ideas.

Because what I’m about to link to is the best blog ever – I send Mama Bear links and links from it – I’m posting this in a “there but for the grace of the flying spaghetti monster go I” schadenfreude kind of way.

That’s all for now. I’m reading some YA at the moment (Ally Condie’s Matched trilogy, and enjoying 66% of it), so I’m going to head to bed and pick it back up.

4 responses »

  1. Librariannabelle, Helping Teens with resumes and cover letters is so super important. I love that idea!! If you have the chance to take it a step further, there are college access and support programs that are based out of libraries such as TERI College Planning in Boston. So many teenagers use libraries as a safe haven from their home lives and go there to focus on their academics. Your “college knowledge” is invaluable to these students. There are ways to get free SAT classes and SAT test waivers, tutoring, arrange for college visits, and application fee waivers for low-income students (based on free and reduced lunches). Keep at it – There are a lot of other college access and support programs and universities that would absolutely help support you (not to mention a former college roommate!!) Way to make the world a better place!!! xxx

    • Aww, thanks! 😉 At our library there’s a “college resource center” or some such thing – not affiliated with the library but taking up space on the third floor – and we hope they might help, but they’ve traditionally only provided financial aid advice and the like, as far as I know. These are seriously necessary skills these students are lacking… and what about looking someone in the eyes and giving a firm handshake? That’s always important to reinforce, I think. Thank you for your support! Any further suggestions would be much, much appreciated! xxx

  2. book characters are the easiest costumes – start a stash of silly hats and such for storytimes and you will never be caught without an idea. I have a great Crown that I use to be the Queen of ____ (fill in the blank) old graduations gowns become Harry Potter robes very quickly, some headbands with animal ears and you can be anyone! The music teacher was “Angelina Ballerina” with a t-shirt, leggings, a homemade tutu, and mouse ears. I will be Skippyjon Jones this year – got a set of the ears, cape and mask at a Library conference last year, can’t wait.

    • Oh, brilliant, Angelina Ballerina! I should have thought about that! The HP robes were first what came to mind this year, since my parents have a bunch of graduation gowns, but since I won’t see them before H’ween, I’ll grab them next time I’m home. So many good ideas – thanks, Chrissie!

Leave a Reply

