Not quite what Claudia Kincaid had in mind, but it’s close

Standard

One of my favorite books growing up was the story of Claudia and Jamie Kincaid running away to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I learned a lot from that book – how to swipe coins from a fountain, what an Automat was, but mostly I was obsessed with the idea of living in a museum. Having it all to myself all night long, wandering the halls, exploring the exhibits, and maybe trying on a dress from the 1800s or eating off presidential china – that was my idea of paradise.

The only thing better than that, I remember thinking, would be living in a library. So I was pretty intrigued to find out about this story, about an NYU student doing exactly that: living inside the school’s library. How does he shower? Where does he eat? Where does he keep his clothes? The story answers all these questions and more – and makes me realize that this might not have been everything I dreamed it would be.

Here’s another link, too, courtesy of Mama Bear, of Flavorwire’s favorite pop culture librarians. Evie from The Mummy is still my favorite, but the other ones are pretty rockin’ too.

I’m also going to start a new feature on here: at the end of the post, I’ll share what book I’m reading at the moment. Right now, having just finished Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty series (thanks to Sister A for the recommendation), I’m still in a Victorian mood, and pulled To Marry an English Lord off the shelves, a non-fiction book about the marriages between rich American girls and titled, yet poor, Englishmen. Perhaps it’s time to rewatch Downton Abbey, too.

Leave a Reply

