Storytime surprise!

Standard

I came into work after the Veterans Day holiday to find that I’d been put on the schedule for Friday’s 10 a.m. baby lapsit storytime. My first one! And solo, too! I have it all planned out – it’s probably fair to say that I had it planned a full 2 hours after I’d learned I’d be running it. I’ll post its contents and the reception by the babies/caregivers afterwards. I have no doubt it’ll be a learning experience, and with luck, a strong start to something I want to do often throughout my career. So to say I’m excited – that doesn’t even cover it.

We also had our big planning meeting today as a department – what’s working? What’s not working? We’ve decided to shift around some storytimes to see if we can get better attendance, and discussed some new programs we want to implement, both recurring and one-time. I hope we can do mine… I have some great ideas.

Some nice links and a sad link today.

To make your heart break, take a look at an abandoned library in Detroit. I have no doubt that Mark Twain would have an acerbic word or twelve to say about the state of his namesake library.

From Mama Bear, a look at 12 vintage advertisements showcasing some not-familiar faces. (Can you imagine John Grisham or Jhumpa Lahiri or Dan Brown doing an ad for Hilton or something?)

Also from Mama Bear: Buzzfeed usually has its tongue firmly in cheek, but I think they’re on the right track with this list. I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only read 10, but there are many that have been on my list for a while. (Camus and Vonnegut have never been up my alley, but these are seminal works. I’ll get there. I promise.)

Now, to the new segment, What’s Annabelle Reading? Over the weekend, in the mood for something fun and light, I read Fat, Drunk, and Stupid, which was hilarious. While I had read Graham Joyce’s The Silent Land  and found it eerie as all hell, I hoped that I’d like a newer one, Some Kind of Fairy Tale, which I picked up after Fat, Drunk, and Stupid. I was disappointed; it wasn’t fleshed out as much as I’d like, and it felt unsatisfying. Too bad. For my book club next week, I finished on my commute home Silver Sparrow, by Tayari Jones, and liked it very much. I have a lot to say about it, and I can’t wait to see what my book clubbers have to say, too.

Till later, dear readers.

Leave a Reply

