A Surprise Storytime

Standard

Our storytimes and programs shut down during the winter, because we have so many of our patrons out of town. For some reason this morning, we had an unusual influx of patrons, all around the 2-3 year age, so I thought, “Hey, why not do an impromptu storytime?” So I did! I gathered up the kiddos, we started off with a song or two, and then I busted out two books: When the Rooster Crowed * and A Sick Day for Amos McGee.  More songs and then we were done. It was great. Each storytime builds my confidence, and if I can pull together a good one in under 5 minutes, I like to think that my planned ones will be pretty excellent.

* This wasn’t my smartest move. One of the cardinal storytime rules is: Only use books you’ve read and liked. I pulled it off the shelf, flipped through, and liked the animal noises. Luckily, it turned out to be the perfect choice, but next time I may not be so lucky.

Today I also met with my storytime committees: baby lapsit, toddlers, and preschoolers. We decide to keep the opening and closing songs and mid-storytime songs the same for each group, each time, because repetition is good. We also want to be sure to sprinkle in tidbits about literacy each time. I’m so excited to start doing storytime regularly, with three different groups!

Lots of links today, my lit-lovers.

Friend E sent me this quote, which is SO excellent. It’s really true.

Banned book trading cards – wish I’d known about these during Banned Book Weeks in September.

When a blog called Forever Young Adult dishes on their favorite YA books of the year, listen.

I’m letting my feminist flag fly with these short stories.

Speaking of feminism, I think Molly and Ginny Weasley are two fabulous female badasses who don’t take any crap from anyone.

I could save these fun tidbits for Dr. Seuss’ birthday (which is damn near a library holiday), but I don’t want to.

I wasn’t a big fan of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but this is a neat article about the author’s inspiration.

If you don’t know who Ursula Nordstrom is, shame on you. She’s the indirect reason I do what I do. I have the book pictured in the article (but haven’t read it yet – sorry, Sister A).

Congratulations to Kate DiCamillo! (No fewer than 4 people sent me this link – thanks particularly to Friend D and Mama Bear, who sent it to me at precisely the same moment first thing in the morning.)

Do you e-Read? I own a Kindle – I won it and use it pretty much only when I travel – but can’t give up the real books. Here are two authors’ takes on the reading experience with them. (Thanks to Friend D for the link.)

Finally, I an am unabashed fan of Cards Against Humanity, a filthy yet hilarious game that’s the R-rated cousin of Apples to Apples. Here’s a librarian version.

2 responses »

  1. I am longing for this but it is a pretty penny when you add shipping: http://www.basbleu.com/cgi-bin/hazel.cgi?action=DETAIL&ITEM=UG6152. I’ve refused e-readers, even after many pushes from several parent-types who are apparently more techie than I have any desire to be (note: my mom, who has only been texting for a couple months, uses “text speak” such as “2” and “u” and “r”….I do not and laugh at her secretly each time she does…just not right)

  2. I totally agree, Cheryl, on all counts. One, that’s an expensive t-shirt, though I do love Bas Bleu. It’s funny you say tat about the text speak – if I get an email on the dating service that I’m on from a guy who uses it, I’ve already prejudged him, you know? I just can’t do it.

Leave a Reply

