Training, training, training

Standard

Here I am in training for something I’ve already learned – the lessons are exactly the same – so I figured now would be a good time to update my blog, my dear readers, and apologize for my radio silence. I’ve been busier than a one-armed paperhanger, so now I have a chance to update.

Staff changes are tough. I have two people I quite like – four if you count people not in my department – who are moving to different branches of the library. It’s not like I won’t see them, of course, but it’s so nice to see them every day, and I’m going to miss bouncing ideas off of them, and working with them on crafts, and naturally having a wonderful time being around them.

I’ve grown quite attached to one of our sections – our series section – through working very closely with it. Our series section is sort of a stepping-stone level between easy readers and regular chapter books. (Think Geronimo Stilton, Junie B. Jones (aleva shalom Barbara Park), Magic Tree House, etc.)  Another coworker and I went through and weeded our torn, stained, warped, moldy books, but also distributed some of our multiple-copy books among other branches. So now I feel very protective of it, and if our American Girl books are out of order, I shall shake my fist at the perpetrators.

Links! 

This and the following two from Mama Bear, for the librarians in your life

I’ve been to many of these, and one of them – the Book Thing – is from my hometown!

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned The Bechdel Test on here. I’ve certainly referred to my outrageously obvious feminist tendencies, but I’m not sure about the Test. Here are three classic novels that pass it. Can you think of others?

From one of my favorite fellow-librarian blogs, all about servicing preschoolers. They’re an unusual demographic, and I am starting my storytimes with them soon, so this is a particularly helpful post.

Can I buy these and put them on my wall

Also from Mama Bear, the retired American Girls dolls are worth hella bucks.

From Friend G, apparently librarians have the 8th least amount of stress among any profession. To which I say, HA!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I finished a really nice book, Hector and the Search for Happiness, which is a combo sweet little novel and philosophical piece. It’s quite short and easy to read, and I’m glad I read it.  I’m in the middle of a book now, experiencing something that happens a lot: I thought the book would be one thing, but it’s another, and disappointing.

Leave a Reply

