Baby Lapsit Storytime – Friday, January 31, 2014

Standard

We had a full house and then some today – 13 adults and 15 babies – and some flexibility was called for, as you’ll see.

First, I got to tag-team my storytime with my coworker J, who wanted to get some practice under her belt, and our coworker K, who wanted to observe. We began with “Hello, How are You” and “Open/Shut them,” and J read Mem Fox’s Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes. There was lots of toe wiggling and finger waving. Then we sang “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” and I took over. I read Itsy Bitsy Babies, which has lots of participatory activity in it. 

(One of the reasons today’s storytime was so successful is that the adults were really involved with the babies and helped them wave arms and fingers, etc. With older kids, they can do it on their own, so the adults are more likely to pull out their phones or just not participate. I’ve found I get great adult activity when I do baby lapsit.)

Then we wound down with “This Little Piggy” (twice, and there was a lot of spontaneous “wee wee wee all the way home” tickling, which was adorable.) We then sang “If You’re Happy and You Know It.”

We had started off with only 3 babies and their adults, but as storytime went on, it really grew. Some people came in as we were doing our goodbye songs, so to extend storytime a bit, I pulled out our big copy of Caps for Sale so the newcomers could at least experience one book. As Caps for Sale is one of my old favorites, I knew it could be made easy for babies, and there was a lot of fist shaking and arm waving and foot stamping in the story that the adults and babies did. We finished off with “We Wave Goodbye Like This,” which has clapping and waving, and doing that twice worked out well.

(Normally I’d post pictures of the books, but one of the caregivers wanted to check them out, which is a sign of success, don’t you think?)

A winner!

Leave a Reply

