Preschool Storytime Wednesday, February 26

Standard

ROAR!!

Image

I felt like being a little “wild” for this one and decided to go with a jungle theme for my preschoolers today. I took a little gamble – one longer book and a short book, instead of two standard-length books – which didn’t really pay off, as you’re about to see.

After our usual “Hello, how are you?” welcome song, I decided to do “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes,” because I wanted them to get all their sillies out. We did it slowly, at normal speed, and then fast, which this particular group really enjoyed last time.

So the first book I read was Chris Van Allsburg’s Jumanji. I knew going into it that it was a little long, so that’s why I had them do “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes” first. They really did sit patiently and pay attention to the book, but I was hoping for a little bit more shock value (I guess in my day, the idea of a lion on the couch and monkeys in the kitchen would warrant a reaction). So they liked it, but it might still be best for older students. 

We sang “On my Nose, I Have a Hat,” which I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned before. So here it is:

(To the tune of “This Old Man,”)

On my nose, I have a hat

It is such a silly hat 

That my nose goes wiggle-woggle to and fro,

Where else can my silly hat go?

(Then the kids can suggest other places for the hat to go, and the song can be as long or as short as you want it to.)

The second book I read was Walking Through the Jungle, by Julie Lacombe, and there are chances for the kids to “wade,” “stomp,” etc. through the jungle. It worked really well. If I have a small toddler group, I might use it with them too. I think the kids liked the many moving-around activities we had today.

I finished up as usual with “We Wave Goodbye Like This” and “Our Hands Say Thank You.” It felt like it went pretty quickly, and the kids were pretty well-behaved.

In other news, it’s been a busy few days of meetings and trainings. On Monday I had training for the Common Core Standards, which was a great training – extremely well-presented. I may turn into the trainer for my coworkers at my branch. Then yesterday I had two meetings, one for the summer reading program, and one for the librarians alone in the children’s division. We talked about getting programming together for the summer and making a few little tweaks to some of the ones we already have. 

So many meetings and trainings – I feel like I’m back in pre-libraryland, at my old job. It’s strange.

Now, some links!

I love this little guy. What a good heart.

Some of these would be great – others, maybe not so much. 

You know how I feel about my Birthday Twin, John Green. He’s kind of perfect. Here are some of his best (literary) quotes.

I’ve managed to bring most of my childhood stuff (Mama Bear would probably quibble about the use of the word “most,” since my “most” is not her “most”) into my current apartment, but my childhood books were a real priority. Some of them I’ve split with Sister A, after prolonged negotiation, and some of them are still in my parents’ basement in boxes. I don’t know if I could say goodbye to them so easily.

Memoirs are really underrated. Here are some great ones by people of color.

What I picture in my head is never close to the real thing where authors are concerned.

You can keep your pigeon pie, thank you.

People are just figuring this out?

All of these and more.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I went historical and picked up the always excellent Alison Weir’s The Children of Henry VIIIAnything she writes is good. Next, a friend had lent me Ursula K. LeGuin’s novella The Lathe of Heaven, which was too smart for me, as much as I loved the premise – a man in some future dystopia discovers that his dreams can change the world. The writing, however, was completely on point. While sci-fi isn’t really my thing, the quality of the writing is such that I’d like to read more from her. Finally, before I left work yesterday, my reserve copy of Hyperbole and a Half came in. Hooray! I read that in one sitting last night and laughed and laughed (and cried a little). Sister A had just happened to be reading it while she visited me this weekend and liked it. If you haven’t read Brosh’s blog, it’s definitely worth it, particularly her pieces on depression, which were brilliantly, painfully well done (Part one and part two.)

Leave a Reply

