School Visits and other Miscellany

Standard

Tomorrow (or Saturday, whenever I get around to it – will definitely be a post about my baby storytime and my supercool program I’m putting on tomorrow. (Hint: what day is tomorrow?) But I have a few things I wanted to share before then so that I didn’t put up a megapost.

On Tuesday I hosted my first class visit – a bunch of 6th graders from a local private school needed to learn about researching. It was fun, first, because I got to see one of my grad school buddies, their librarian (Hi, K!) and, second, because these were neat kids. They were working on year-long projects, and were asking some great research questions: comparing Historically Black Colleges and Universities to the Ivies, exploring the Shakespeare authorship myth, or delving (metaphorically) into black holes. 

My coworker B really was a lifesaver. I can’t thank him enough. He knew just where to find our research pathfinders, how to plug in the laptop to project it, and discussed the databases before I demonstrated how to use the catalog. 

(Note: our catalog is really cool. When you’re looking up a title, you can text it to yourself, put it on hold, share it on Facebook or Twitter or Goodreads, and other options. The kids thought it was great.)

I was nervous presenting to the kids – which my coworkers later said they could tell because I was talking a mile a minute – but the kids seemed to find it useful. I helped them to find books they’d looked up, and one gal – the one doing the Shakespeare authorship question – found about 20 books that would be useful for her. I’m not exaggerating. She was really excited. So was I, to see all of HER excitement!

The students had varying degrees of success with their research, but they have lots of online database resources that they’ll be able to use. A great group and a successful event. Now I feel much more ready to host a class visit by myself. 

In unrelated news, here’s a very strange, very depressing, yet slightly touching book we’ve recently added to our collection. 

Also, there must be something going around with our teenage boys. I trained two of them (separately) in the studio today, and each of them insisted on holding the doors open for me, and one of them, at the end of the training, looked me straight in the eye and shook my hand and thanked me. Whaaa? If this is a trend, I’m fine with it.

Links!

I love epistolary novels and diaries; I completely agree with this Buzzfeed post.

There is something rather fabulous about knowing which Jane Austen hero is right for you. I did always like the sense and slight haughtiness of George Knightley.

SIster A and I are rereaders. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read certain books (my personal record is Gone With the Wind, which I read 6 times over a 5-week trip to Israel when I was 16). There’s just something really comforting about going back to something you love. 

Thanks to Friend D for this one about actually USING the library.

Also from Friend D, this is just really freakin’ cool.

Without revealing where I live, we are waaaaaaaaaaay ahead of San Fran. And, sadly, a lot of these rules are broken, and bannings are issued, at my library and some local systems I know. We have a sophisticated system of warnings and bannings and a Code of Conduct that’s been around for I don’t know how many years.

Libraries + Kid input = some really neat designs.

Coworker J and I were talking about this the other day, when Mama Bear sent me the link right after. What an amazing opportunity.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I finished Carry Me Down (I love books about Ireland), which was well-written and quite sticky. Having read Dodger, now I’m on a Dickens kick, and it’s going better than I thought. Details, as always, once I’ve finished.

Leave a Reply

