Baby storytime and STEAM: Pi Day, Friday, March 14

Standard

What a busy day. Note to self: two programs in one day is a bit much. But it was all fabulous.

The neat thing that I really liked about my babytime is that I had a lot of new parents and babies. I also tried to do a few new things.

Image

The books we read were all baby-related, and with simple rhymes and actions for the parents to do with the kids, or model for the kids – bouncing, or playing peek-a-boo, or lifting them up high – they worked really well. I recommend any of them, and will use all of them again in future storytimes. (One Hungry Baby, How Do You Make a Baby Smile, and Baby Talk.)

I brought out the shakers during our rhymes, when we did Hickory Dickory Dock and Row, Row, Row Your Boat. The kids were good at shaking in rhythm, and then loved shaking them for fun. It was a great storytime – I was really pleased.

It goes without saying that I’m an English major – that math was never my strong point. Ever. even now. And I figured, if I’m going to celebrate Pi Day, I’m going to do it as right, as clearly as possible. I mean, I have a problem still explaining and understanding Pi (don’t judge me), but I wanted to make it clear and enjoyable for the kids.

I made a flyer and set up a table, with Pi winding all around it, and a few math-related books.

Image

The day of, I didn’t have a great turnout – but I had some regulars, woo! – but I really liked what I had planned. I discussed Pi (I had a sheet of vocabulary that we’d be using – diameter, circumference, radius), and read Sir Cumference and the Dragon of Pi .

We watched a few YouTube videos:

Explaining just what Pi is

Just how long Pi goes for (over a trillion digits!)…

And how Pi can even translate to music

I showed the music one last,  because that’s what our craft was about: I sorted beads into different colors, and gave each a number:

Image

Then we took the beads and strung them together in Pi. 3.14159….color-coded, if you will. We all had the same bracelet, which we agreed was like having a secret code that only we understood. Here’s mine, once it was done. (Of course, a pi bracelet can never be finished, but this was about 30 minutes’ work.)

Image

Links!

These were the illustrations in my (and Sister A’s) childhood copy!

This surprises me. I’m not complaining, though.

From Friend P (an actual Ph.D. reads my blog!): this is GORGEOUS.

From Friend E, John Steinbeck on love. Thoughtful (and universally good) advice.

There really is a science to opening books.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I’ve satisfied my Dickens craving by reading one I hadn’t read before – Hard TImes. It’s not as thick as, nor as epic as the “name” books (David Copperfield, Nicholas Nickleby, Oliver Twist), but a good read. There really isn’t a bad Dickens book, frankly.

Leave a Reply

