Anniversary News – and Family Fun Time

Standard

Today is my six-month anniversary at the library. I can’t even believe it. I have no idea how that happened. All of a sudden, it went from September to March. Crazy. 

Yesterday was my first Family Fun Time, and I chose the theme of sports. I had a disappointingly small turnout – only 6, 2 adults and 4 children, but everyone (including the adults) were great participants, and it went really well. We started off with some stretching and jumping jacks, and then I read Soccer Beatwhich was fun. We played Simon Says and sang “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes,” and then I read Hooray, Jose!  Then we watched the 1946 Disney “Casey at the Bat,” which I loved as a kid, but I think it went over the kids’ heads. The adults liked it, though!

Finally, I read them Freckleface Strawberry and the Dodgeball Bully, (written by actress Julianne Moore, don’t you know), and then we played Wonderball, which the adults knew, and, I learned through an informal survey of my coworkers, is a generational thing. 

Then – the best part – I handed out medals! I have a photo of some of the remaining ones below, but there were no “Winner of Wonderball” or “Best Simon Says player” – I didn’t want any like that. All storytime related or praising their efforts or enthusiasm. I gave myself “Most Positive Attitude,” to remind myself on days when my attitude is not so positive that it can be!

Image

All my coworkers got medals, too. It felt nice to give them. 

I wish I’d had more of a turnout, and I think I’ll do this one again in the summer, because I really liked it, and I would think it would get a lot of attendees. Yay!

Now, links:

What we find in children’s lit – with a special visit from LeVar Burton!

The more I reread this post, the more the Giver trailer pisses me off.

From Mama Bear, the following:

Neil Gaiman on why scary stories speak to us.

A candid look at lunch at the American Girl Cafe.

New YA books to put on your reading list!

Why are YA heroines all petite?

From Housemate A: American libraries don’t read teenagers like they should.

From Friend L: Why teens love dystopias (spoiler: they’re living in one).

Two from Coworker W: 

SHUT UP, I’M HAPPY IN MY DENIAL.

Some of these might blow your mind.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I took a break from a book to read another book, and now I took a break from THAT book to read the copy of Divergent that just came in for me (!!!). I think I’ll go through it quickly, and let you know what I think. So far, I’m not writing home about it. 

Leave a Reply

