Storytime for Toddlers, Thursday, May 1

Standard

May Day, indeed. 

Yesterday was a day that I knew was going to start out badly. Traffic was snarled, the weather was bad, and I sensed something was coming down the pike. 

Storytime was crowded – I think I had fifty children and adults, altogether.

I chose three books that ended up being perfect for the age group: Image

I love all the Pete the Cat books. There’s a song that goes with the one I read, Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes. I didn’t know it, so the daycare providers gave me the tune. That was very useful.  Way Far Away on a Wild Safari was a hit, and then I wanted to do “Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed,” but had found this funky-looking puppet that I thought would be perfect.Image

 

It worked well!

Then the problem began.

So to back up: at the beginning of the storytime, I announce what age group it’s for, and then encourage all of the adults to put their phones away. Some of the day care providers like to take pictures of their students having fun, which, since it didn’t disturb storytime, was okay with me, until it suddenly wasn’t.

This all happened in the middle of storytime, mind you – while I was singing or reading or whatever. But what I could gather was that one of the day care providers was taking pictures of her group, but a walk-in child was sitting too close, so she physically moved that child away, rather than asking her to move or asking the parent if the child could move. So words were had and people were getting in each other’s faces. 

The situation diffused itself by the time storytime was over, and then I looked on our internal Wiki and discovered the clause about photos being prohibited except for the rare occasions of speakers, etc. and explained it to the group. So at Friday’s baby storytime today, I made certain to emphasize that photos were not allowed during storytimes, and I preferred that all phones be put away. 

(I’m not sure if I’ll stop storytime if a phone comes out, as colleagues I know do – although I did stop the one time the nanny picked up her phone and made a call, which, seriously? But I have very little tolerance for craziness among the adults, so anything I can do to prevent it, I will do.)

I did get a nice compliment from a visiting grandparent, who told me I handled it well – he initially said, “Boy, if I were you, I’d bring a stun gun to work!” which made me laugh. I guess you just have to roll with the punches.

Links!

I rarely lend out books anymore because I hardly ever get them back. Signed ones? Never. But this, I might start doing.

A GOOSEBUMPS MOVIE!!!

Do you read P&P like this?

Remember the group of teens in Idaho who defied a ruling to read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian?  That story isn’t over. 

Yeah, all of them.

Hee, cat names. This is brilliant. Sister A and I have already planned out our names for our future cats. Hers are from A Tree Grows in BrooklynI bet you can guess where mine come from.

There are still lots of pervasive myths about libraries. Here are some. 

People are stupid.

From friend D:

Some biographies on female writers.

Another reason to go to England. As if there aren’t enough.

From Mama Bear:

All the books we wouldn’t have without Shakespeare (crazy list!)

In What’s Annabelle Reading – this is so embarrassing. But I realized the other day that I had never read Roald Dahl’s The BFGDon’t judge me! It was delightful, and I’m not sure why I never read it. Possibly because I was so obsessed with the rest of his canon (particularly Matilda and The Witches) that I never got around to reading it. So I read it in a quick burst and it was lovely.  

Leave a Reply

