Baby Storytime, Friday, May 2

Standard

It’s so nice to be able to say that I had a nice, quiet, normal storytime on Friday, compared to my crazy Thursday one. It was a big crowd – about 25, which is big for our baby times – and I tried something new: I pulled William Steig’s Pete’s a Pizza and we all acted it out with our babies. (I had a doll for part of it, and a wandering baby for part of it, too.) It worked really well – it just begs to be done with babies.

The best adults of all of my programs are definitely the babytime adults. They are almost all engaged with the little ones, singing with them (I accidentally just typed “signing with them” but that is true actually, because one of our regular adults signs to her baby). My guess is that the older the children are, the more the adults feel that the kids can do their own thing and they don’t have to watch them.

But if someone pulls out a phone at my next storytime, after I’ve already asked them politely at the beginning to put them away, I will stop the storytime. I have no qualms about making sure that everyone is getting the most out of the time.

Image

Liiiiiiiiinks:

So I’m not a huge fan of anti-Semitic slurs, but it is good news when a piece can finally be published in full.

Someone clearly has too much time on her hands.

A new Babysitters Club tumblr!

39! I’m not as big a nerd as I thought. 

From Coworker C, because you all know how I feel about the interrobang.

From Friend D, this might just blow your mind.

From Mama Bear:

Secret libraries?!?

I follow exactly none of these.

This absolutely should go viral.

Not like I need more reasons to go back to London

Shailene Woodley is kind of awesome.

Have read some, need to read more.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I finished The Interestings, which wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

