Toddler Storytime, Thursday, May 29

Standard

Not every day at work is going to be unicorns farting rainbows – this, I know. Alas. And maybe I’m being naive when I thought that I would get the support I need from all quarters. My boss is great, and so are my coworkers, and so are most of our patrons and parents. But there’s always going to be one, right?

I had planned my storytime with some books – all of which turned out to be hits.

Image

I pulled out Coworker C’s felt cutouts of Humpty Dumpty and Little Miss Muffet, and we did each twice.

Image

Between each book, we sing a song. With long ones like “The Wheels on the Bus” or “Old McDonald,” we don’t need to sing those more than once, because they will take freakin’ forever. But the short ones – we repeat those because repetition is good for the kids, and helps them learn.

So I chose “The Itsy-Bitsy Spider” to sing in between two of the books, and we sang it once. Then I said something like, “Wow, what great singers! Why don’t we sing it again?”

And one of the day-care providers said, “Nooooo!” and all the kids laughed.

This accomplished a number of things:

1) I felt embarrassed. I got heckled at my own damn storytime! I work hard to put my storytimes together, but this made me feel stupid.

2) The children learned that talking back is funny.

3) It disrupted the flow I had going.

I ignored the comment and kept on going, but it left a nasty taste in my mouth. My coworkers were kindly sympathetic (or sympathetically kind), but I still wish it hadn’t happened. It was a little thing, but I felt bad.

In other news, I couldn’t find a felt for “Old McDonald,” so I made my own. Notice anything interesting?

Image

Yup, Old McDonald had a dinosaur. I figured I’d mix it up for a little bit of fun.

Here are some links.

In a gothic novel mood? Try this chart.

The Fault in Our Stars read-alikes, from Coworker L’s blog.

The book was a lot of fun, and the casting for the movie looks spot-on.

From Friend D:

Creeeeeeeeepy!

Any of these would work for me, thank you.

I was really, really excited to help out the Reading Rainbow Kickstarter project, and I jumped for joy when they hit their goal in one day. Here’s an interesting counterpoint.

From Mama Bear:

Need something to read this summer?

Every English novel ever.

John Green is a ROCK STAR.

This is a terrible idea!

From Sister A:

In an email with the subject line “Eeeeee one week.”

Leave a Reply

