Preschool Storytime, Wednesday, July 2

Standard

I did something a little new today with the preschoolers: poetry.

Before you say to yourself, “Annabelle, what’s wrong with you?” hear me out. I think poetry would be good for kids if I kept it simple and interesting.

photo (19)

When I started, I defined a poem in simple terms and I talked about how you usually know a poem because it rhymes. Then I read them Madeline and we talked about the rhymes – zoo/pooh-pooh, disaster/faster, vines/lines, etc.

But then I told them that sometimes poems don’t have to rhyme, and we read Who Wants to Buy a Cheap Rhinoceros? They laughed all the way through that one – it was a winner.

After some songs and games, then I pulled out two more books – Where the Sidewalk Ends (because you can’t do children’s poetry and NOT do Shel Silverstein) and the Bill Martin Jr. Big Book of Poetry, to read some funny poems, which I’m not sure they liked – I mostly stuck to short ones, like this one, and one I hadn’t read in a while, and one of my favorites of Silverstein’s.

I loved it, at least.

Links?

The first link – and I learned this while typing this post – is to honor and thank Walter Dean Myers, who passed away yesterday. His books, whether for children or young adults, are cornerstones of our collection. Monster is my favorite – I even have a signed copy.

EDITED TO ADD: I just learned from Coworker S’s Facebook that Nancy Garden recently passed away, tooAnnie on My Mind is iconic.

Remember how I talked about how we need more diversity in literature?

This post is my life!

People are quite clever.

That’s kind of petty to not publish a book because you might not like what’s in it. Grow up.

I’m fine with this decision. (Stick with the Swedish originals.)

Honestly, quidditch and Harry Potter should always go together.

Dorothy Parker is severely underrated.

Or, how to keep your kids reading ALL THE TIME.

Someone buy me a ticket to Heathrow….

From Friend A: HEE!

From Friend D:

What’s America’s most literate city?

Not completely tied to literature, but an interesting phenomenon

Not most popular, or best, but best-selling – some of these might surprise you.

This is about more than just the movie – it’s about how adults see kids. Really thought-provoking.

Grab some Kleenex.

From Mama Bear:

Some recommendations on books to reread. (Where’s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn???)

Sister A got a big kick out of Rupert.

Okay, kids, put the bench back.

From Sister A: I’m in the middle of Great Expectationsso this is really timely.

Leave a Reply

