Wonderful Ones and Outdoor Storytime, Thursday, July 10

Standard

Two storytimes! That’s a lot for me in one day, but as I’m sure you guessed, chickadees, I enjoyed every moment.

I was scheduled for Wonderful Ones, and I picked a lot of fun stories.

photo 3

First was Wiggle, because my one-year-olds are always all over the place within the storytime room. So I figured I’d choose a book to help them get their wiggles out, which, as fun as it was, did not diminish their wanderlust. The other two books were great for counting – One Boy is really cool (sorry, the picture is of another book) and the adults loved it, and Ten, Nine, Eight is a board book standard, and both were great picks for this group.

A coworker was ill that day, and I happily picked up Outdoor Storytime, but it wasn’t great. The kids weren’t interested, because it was so hot – even though we were in the shade – and the adults kept talking over me, despite my best attempts to bring them back into the circle. I had also made a mistake – choosing books that were geared toward preschoolers, when I had forgotten that outdoor storytime is mostly toddlers.

Oops.

photo 2

Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! and Carrot Soup were great choices (I was on a gardening streak), but The Empty Pot, which I love, was waaaaaay above their comprehension level.

You win some, you lose some.

In my next post, I’ll share some library awesomeness from my weekend visiting Mama Bear and Daddio, but this will have to do for now. But I leave you – before links and What’s Annabelle Reading – with a shirt I made at our teens event:

photo 1

I don’t have to tell you how much I love this girl. I can’t wait to wear it!

Links:

This can be a great new tool for the blind.

There is no reason why everyone shouldn’t be able to connect to the web, especially in a public library.

Madeline, Madeline, Madeline!

This is a little bit weird, but this is the part of ATGIB that always blew my mind.

I love this woman. I want her to be my best friend.

From Friend A: HA!

From Friend D:

Urban legends have great sticking power, whether that’s for good or ill.

Can’t lie – really glad that Valley of the Dolls was on here.

Because we’re awesome.

More Letters About Literature.

From Friend L: These are hilariously accurate.

From Mama Bear:

Sharp Objects is becoming a movie.

And then I learned these.

From Sister A:

This is what libraries should provide for the oft-lost teen age group.

What writers read.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I was really excited about The Golem and the Jinni, and it did not disappoint. A terrific dive into turn-of-the-century NYC (I’ll always read books that take place there and then). Disappointingly, I then read We Sinners, because as you know, I always love books about people in extreme religions, but it reminded me more of this than anything else. And it probably didn’t help that I read Rapture Practice not too long ago and still had it in my head. So, meh.

Leave a Reply

