Mostly links today

Standard

I worked this past weekend, and let me just reiterate how much I enjoy working on weekends. I’m not kidding. There’s a different vibe, different clientele, often more parents where there are usually nannies, and, on that note, more dads, different hours, and, on Sunday, a chance for me to get lots of projects done in the four hours before we open.

This past Sunday I was down on the floor with a clothes hanger trying to get out whatever was stuck under the bookshelves. Among the hidden treasure was the following:

  • A Girls Life magazine from August 2010
  • 5 million crayons, pens, markers, and pencils
  • Lots and lots of books/DVDs/CDs
  • a Macy’s coupon from 2006
  • 12 cents
  • A note reading: “I like you” with the words “yes” and “no” to be circled (which I kept)

I also got filthy dirty. It was fun! I like doing the physical stuff, honestly. There’s something really satisfying about being able to say that I crawled around on the floor for a while and really created an intimate relationship with the children’s room carpet.

Links: 

Romance novel awards!

The first trailer for that movie based on crappy books which is actually fan fiction of crappy books. 

So true… so true. (or simply replace all of the steps with “Urinate on the floor.” That works too.)

SNAPEchats. This took a little explaining for me since I didn’t really get what a snapchat is.

It would have been nice to have had a “why” section on here, and my Birthday Twin’s inclusion, too.

Love the composition book ones! (Just as a note, my birthday’s coming up and I wear a size 7.5, thanks)

One: order a drink. Two: open book. Sounds easy enough to me.

It’s comforting to know that one of the greatest writers of all time had a lousy report card.

Letters About Literature: Dear Ray Bradbury

How many of these can you guess? On a related note, man, I used to love watching Jerry Springer.

I am both petrified and excited of buying a condo, because it means I will have to do this.

I knew nothing about Bel Kaufman, but her obituary is worth reading.

There hasn’t been one un-funny one in this series yet. 

Trippy!

From Mama Bear:

It starts off with Dickens’ London and gets better from there. 

Lois Lowry’s response to seeing The Giver on screen.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, my book club is Wednesday, and we read (and in my case, re-read for the millionth time) The Secret History, which I just love. 

Leave a Reply

