Wonderful Ones and Toddlers, Thursday, July 31, 2014

Standard

I got to do two storytimes on Thursday! My poor coworker L is struck with something mucus-y, so I happily picked up her Wonderful Ones on Thursday. 

The only bad thing about doing two storytimes back to back is the sore throat that comes after, and the sense that hearing one more verse of “If You’re Happy and You Know It” could possibly push you over the edge. 

For the ones, I had to make some quick choices, since I pulled the storytime together rather quickly. So I referenced a librarian’s secret: a fabulous document we have called “Tried and True Storytime Books,” and we keep a copy for each age group. I’d done Monkey and Me before, but I realllllllly liked Mama Cat Has Three KittensThat was a big hit! Denise Fleming is pretty solid in everything she does – all of her books are guaranteed crowd-pleasers.

photo (83)

 

During my one-on-one with The Boss on Sunday, she mentioned that it would be good for me to study developmental milestones for each age group to see which books, rhymes, songs, and fingerplays are best for each group. So I’ve been toting this around lately and taking copious notes. 

So for the toddlers, I chose books that had a repeating element, with rhymes, that encouraged the kids to point at pictures, get involved, and participate in the dicussions.

Solid choices, all, I think. What I did with Freight Train was not only read it, but then we went back and named colors, and counted cars, and made more of the book than what was just on the page.

photo (84)

 

I do have to share this story. Freight Train was one of my favorite books as a kid. The book that my parents had to buy replacement copies of over the years. And I can never read it, whether in my head or out loud, without using the cadences and sing-songy voice that my Grandma always read it with. So during Thursday’s storytime, I read it that way, and the kids started echoing me! So I’d read, “Going through tunnels,” and they’d go, “tunnels,” with the same inflection and tone. I loved it. I actually teared up a little bit. 

I think Grandma would be really proud. 

Anyway, let’s move on to links!

DC Library’s tumblr is pretty terrific. I loved this post about the bookplates. 

I did not know this!

I have a soft spot for Arthur Rackham.

New British Harry Potter covers! Supercool.

This won’t be as easy as you expect. I didn’t do very well until the second half.

Adaptations can be hit-or-miss. When your protagonist looks like this, and it’s spearheaded by the BBC, you know it’s going to be a winner.

(PS: you know that Damian Lewis is married to Narcissa Malfoy, right? Isn’t that great?)

From Friend D (who happens to be Friend L’s mom):

Maybe I should read the book, then.

Hurray! Another great side effect of Harry Potter fandom!

From Friend L: 

This is spot on.

From Mama Bear:

She changed reading as we know it. I don’t think that’s an exaggeration.

Holly Black is writing the next Doctor Who adventure!

Anyone who’s a fan of Judith Viorst is a friend of mine.

My life, basically.

There was a lot of Harry Potter in this post. Wait till the next one for more.

Leave a Reply

