Toddler Storytime Wednesday, August 20 and Thursday, August 21

Standard

It’s been a busy week of storytimes. Toddler on Wednesday and Thursday, and then preschool today. I feel with each one, I’m getting more and more confident. (That doesn’t mean, of course, that I don’t still make mistakes. I make a lot of mistakes. And the good news is that I figure out what works and what doesn’t, and we roll from there.)

Thursday’s went nicely.

photo (85)

I’ve done I Love Animals before, and it’s been great – it’s a good book for talking about animal noises or farm animals. So many books are more than just what’s on the page. (See I Went Walking, below.)

photo (86)

 

You may notice a similarity between Wednesday’s and Thursday’s books – I am a Backhoe and I am a Tyrannosaurus . They were good books for getting kids up and moving – which I don’t usually do – and acting out noises and other sounds. Sadly, and I hate saying this, but they were good “boy books.” I generally try to keep princesses and dinosaurs and tea parties and pirates out of storytime because kids seem to participate better when we’re tackling a general subject like farm animals or going to the zoo or what have you.

(However, there was one little girl who’s a regular with her daycare, and before I named the dinosaur we were talking about, she said, “That’s an allosaurus!” (or something, I’m not great with dinosaurs.) Then I turned the page and read, “I am an allosaurus.” and she said, “That’s what I said!” So hooray for a girl being my resident dinosaur expert.)

Strangely, Wednesday’s storytime was nearly empty – only about 6 or 7 kids and adults, while Thursday’s was much bigger.

How about some links?

I got 100%, because I rule.

Much better than RHONY, but not as good as RHOBH.

More honest book titles.

Stolen from Coworker A’s blog: YA lit is a constant.

I may hate the idea of the movie, but The Giver matters. It hasn’t been around this long by being a puff piece.

Truth.

Not all books are for everyone, and I know a lot of people – myself included – who hate quitting books. But sometimes you just have to give up.

Who designs book covers, and how do they choose them? A neat read.

Neat GIFs from the Smithsonian.

Libraries aren’t dying, so everyone just calm down.

From Friend M: BECAUSE THEY KEEP SOCIETY FUNCTIONING, THAT’S WHY.

From Mama Bear:

I want to go to all of these!

Every thing I needed to know, I learned from books.

How in the world was the interrobang left off of this?

But it is the world’s worst book cover, so there’s that.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I needed something to tide me over until my reserves came in, so I decided to tackle an old favorite (this one in ebook form) to get me through. I know, it sucks, but it’s still fun.

Leave a Reply

