Things I think are interesting

Standard

because I am a librarian. You may not think they are interesting, my dear readers, but you continue to read my random musings, and for that I am grateful.

Here is a heartwarming little tale for you. At my library we have a program for teen aides, but it’s more than just shelving and helping out 20 hours a week. The teens must apply, provide their transcripts and two recommendations, and after being hired, they attend workshops on applying to and financing for college, and make a little more than just  minimum wage. On the whole, they take it seriously. We just said goodbye to one of our teens in August, who was heading off to an Ivy League college.

So last week I was helping one of the teens in the Teen Space with his application, and when he was finished he asked where to turn it in. I told him, but before he left, I asked, “May I offer you some friendly advice?” He said yes, and I continued with what I hope was not a trace of snarkiness, because I really was serious, “You may want to consider turning in your application after you’ve changed out of your pot leaf t-shirt.” He thanked me and went on his way, and I figured that my advice went in one ear and out the other, like almost anything I say to teens.

Imagine my surprise, shock, and incredulousness when he came in the next morning in a neatly-pressed button-down shirt and tie and told me that he had just turned in his application. WOW! I was extremely impressed.

I mean, come on, who actually listens to ME?

This weekend was a madhouse. It was our early literacy festival, with musical acts, giveaways, food, face painting, representatives from the local PBS affiliate (including Clifford, and I got to hug Clifford, which was the highlight of my day), a caricaturist, and all kinds of great stuff. So naturally, we were mobbed. I was in teen for one wonderful hour, because it was quiet as the grave, and I got to gather my wits about me before I went back to the craziness of children’s.

Don’t forget that it’s Banned Books month. It is my favorite themed month of the year. Not because books are banned, but because of the awareness of the silly, silly reasons that books are banned. Here, for instance, are some of the books we have on display in Teen Space.

photo (1) 2

And here’s a photo of some art that’s actually adhered to the front of my library right now. I love it. (You may know Laurie Halse Anderson as the author of many notable YA books, including Speak for which she is forever in Annabelle’s YA Hall of Fame).

photo 2

September is also National Library Card Sign-Up Month! I added my own reason to the ones in the non-fiction section.

photo (2) 2

Here are links.

In our top spot today: If we’re going to talk about banned books, let’s look at some actual ones that were banned, and why.

A good idea.

Stolen from Coworker M’s tumblr: some thoughtful words on books and reading.

Phew.

Boy, do I wish I could put this up sometimes…

Neil Gaiman’s Hansel and Gretel is full speed ahead….

I love that a 14-year-old wrote this.

THESE ARE MY PEOPLE! (In all seriousness, did I ever mention I studied abroad in Bath? That’s my hood.)

The full Mockingjay trailer.

From Coworker J:

How do you keep librarians entertained?

From Friend D:

I won’t be seeing the movie, but I have a special place in my heart for Judith Viorst. I own all of her books. Autographed. #braggy

“Don’t gobblefunk around with words.”

The Fitzgeralds are buried in my home state, didja know?

To which we both freaked out that there were books we’d never get to read.

From Friend E:

A mind-blowing statistic.

From Mama Bear:

All of these, please.

Not in my experience, but okay.

Librarians are bad-ass.

This article scared me, no joke…

From Sister A:

YAY!

In What’s Annabelle reading, I finally made it to Grasshopper Jungle, which I LOOOOOOVEDbecause it was a book about the end of the world by way of mutant bugs, but it was also a touching coming-of-age story, about being a teen in a small town, confused about puberty and longing and feelings and LGBTQ feelings and all those kinds of things. I felt like I was in the brain of a teenage boy, and with all due respect, I never want to feel that way again. If that’s how teenage boys feel every single second, I have no idea how they make it through each day.

Then I read Outlander, which was full of historical bits and sexy kilty Scottish sexy sex. And accents! Did I mention kilts? Kilts! Lots of plaid! Kilts!

Leave a Reply

