Preschool storytime, October 8, and Baby storytime, October 10

Standard

The best laid plans of mice and men, something something something. I forget how it ends, but I know it has something to do with day care groups bringing whatever age kids they want to a preschool storytime.

(I’ve written about this before, so I’ll let it go for now, but let me just say that having babies, toddlers, AND preschoolers all together for a storytime does. not. work. AT ALL.)

But I had chosen good books, at least.

IMG_1681

You’re Finally Here! was a lot of fun, and so was A Moose that Says Moooooooooo. Kids respond to the unusual, and breaking the fourth wall (the former) and blatant silliness (the latter) both qualify.

Today’s baby lapsit was quite popular! More babies than usual. And even a library friend and her infant stopped by, which was nice, but the first thing I thought when I saw her wasn’t, “Yay, friend M!” but “Oh, no, friend M is also a branch manager, is she here to evaluate me or something?” and I was actually a little nervous at first.

IMG_1683

I didn’t love Who Said Meow?, but that was my own fault – it would have worked better with toddlers or preschoolers.

And the Five Little Pumpkins poem experiment – there’s a book!! – has been going swimmingly. There are a lot of hand motions now I’ve come up with, and the parents are into it. What I’ve noticed is that kids aren’t memorizing the words (and that’s not really the point), but they’re definitely into the hand motions and the “oooooooooo!” ghost noises part, which is my favorite, too.

Two moments of note today:

1) A little toddler almost did not make it to the bathroom, so his mama whipped out his portable potty, something else was whipped out, and he quite luckily had good aim into said potty. Change of clothes, slight wiping of the computer chair, and we were all back to normal. Ladies and gentlemen, a year after Annabelle started work, she finally saw her first Public Weenie.

2) A mom and her embarrassed teenager came in and asked for Are You There, God, It’s Me, Margaret today, and both the mom and I were gushing over how awesome it is, and how it’s a benchmark of every teen girl’s experience, and I read it, and her mom read it, and every single woman who was ever a teen read it, and it’s amazing. I was so proud to pass the torch. (The teen was nonplussed.)

Lotsa links.

In the top spot, a hail and farewell to Zilpha Keatley Snyder, who died this week.

In spot #2, mazel tov to Patrick Modiano for picking up the Nobel Prize in Literature!

Book titles, answered.

An NSFW laugh at our favorite housekeeper’s expense…

For the record, I do not think it’s a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad children’s book.

From Friend D:

Every city can be a city for a book lover as long as there’s a good coffee shop, a good pub, and a good book in your hand.

You may have seen Rowling’s Harry Potter riddle. You may also have seen that some genius solved it.

Not always a good idea.

From Friend G:

This isn’t news, but it still breaks my heart a little bit everytime I remember it.

From Mama Bear:

After so long, it’s time to bury the hatchet.

This is great.

When does the next plane leave?

A fun way to figure out which of fall’s new releases is right for you.

I wouldn’t want Neil Gaiman irritated at me.

When I was a little girl, I had a copy of Richard Scarry’s Best Word Book Ever in the back seat pocket of the car, and that was The Car Book. It went through a few iterations because it kept falling apart, but it was there for yeaaaaaaaaaaaars. He is my first favorite author. (Why I’ve never considered a Lowly Worm tattoo, I don’t know.)

TL;DR: there are lots.

Leave a Reply

