Baby Lapsit, Friday, October 24

Standard

I know I mention all the time how much I love babytime, so I’ll skip my usual squeeing and go straight to the books.

IMG_1722

Sometimes in my enthusiasm I go a bit too long, so we didn’t even have a chance to get to If You’re Happy and You Know It. So I’ll save that for another time.

Oh, in other news, I just discovered that my undergrad’s Quidditch team has a fabulous motto. F&M’s motto is “Lux et Lex.” Light and law. The quidditch team’s motto? Lumos et lex. LOVE IT.

Links!

In today’s top spot, oh, Sesame Street, you did it again. Furry Potter.

I had no idea she lived in the U.S.!

A little bit of truth about libraries from Coworker J’s blog.

I saw Gone Girl on Thursday (A solid A-, not too shabby), and, related, the Amazing Amy books are now available for purchase.

I’m in the “as long as they’re reading” camp.

FINALLY. This drives me up the WALL.

Some neat facts about The Raven. (The Poe Toaster is a fun bit of Baltimore lore. One very clever and wonderful man once hypothesized in The Baltimore Sun that the Poe Toaster could have been… guess who? And that copy of The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes that Mr. Sherman bought for $1.25 in 1938? It’s one of my top three most prized possessions. Thanks, Granddad.)

WTF?

The Dos and Don’ts are pretty on.

From Friend D:

Clever, indeed.

If by ruin, you mean “Make it better.”

From Friend L:

A backstory on Umbridge. There is a god, and her name is J.K. Rowling.

From Mama Bear:

As every adult should.

Sorry, I think it’s gone there already.

Judy has all the answers.

Don’t get librarians started on Twitter… especially when it comes to baseball.

Just got the newest issue of VF in my mailbox, and look what’s in it

It’ll be a fun companion book to Fey’s and Kaling’s memoirs.

From Sister A:

Happy to see my hometown represented!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I’m quite behind on listing my books read, and I apologize. Finally I got my mitts on We Were Liars, which I looooooooved – I had read some E Lockhart in library school – and the twist at the end was one I had genuinely not seen coming. It was YA, but at times didn’t feel like it.

My next novel was What is Visibleabout someone I’d always found fascinating: Laura Bridgman. She was famous before Helen Keller, and in addition to having lost her hearing and sight, she also had no sense of taste or smell. I was more interested in the book’s focus on her than the focus on Dr. Samuel Howe (who ran the Perkins Institute) and his wife, Julia Ward “Battle Hymn of the Republic” Howe. A quite interesting look at a now-forgotten figure in U.S. history.

Finally, I just finished Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar, which was SO much better than The Interestings, which if you remember, I did not love, or even like. Whether it was because this was YA, or because the characters were actually relatable, I don’t know, but this was a winner. It makes me want to go back and read this again for the millionth time.

Leave a Reply

