Toddler storytime Wednesday, November 5 and Thursday, November 6

Standard

On Monday, I ran the Art Attack program for the Teens. I’m not a hugely artsy person, and I had been planning to make flip books, but we had so many books that were weeded for condition in our children’s section that I thought I’d use them to make flowers. They’re not fabulous, but the ones that turned out well exceeded my (super-low) expectations:

IMG_1737

I mean, again, not great, but if I had a little more practice, they’d come out more uniformly well. I found the easy-to-follow instructions here.

Two toddler storytimes this week – no one fell asleep in either, happily – although one parent showed up for both and read a book through each. That really frosts my cookies. Even though I pointedly added in my “no cell phones” spiel “please put away books, too,” he still read. He’s been a difficult patron, and, really, what can I do?

(I’ve been internally wrestling with whether or not it’s a good idea to fight the losing battle against cell phones in my storytime. I mention it in my aforesaid spiel at the beginning, and to eradicate their presence completely I’d have to stop at least twice in each storytime to remind people – in front of others, potentially embarrassing them, which I don’t like doing, even if I privately feel they deserve it – to put their phones away. I don’t like to stop a storytime, and I don’t like to break the flow, but I also don’t like seeing people disrespect me and model inappropriate behavior for their kids. What to do?)

Anyway.

Yesterday’s was good, but not fabulous.  Everyone seemed to have a case of the wiggles. But Pete the Cat seemed to help. (Oh, speaking of, I am so getting this).

IMG_1738

Today went better because I had a theme. I think it always is better, tied together, more cohesive, you know, whenever I have a theme.

IMG_1739

And funnily enough, I didn’t even get to two of the books. I just read If I Were a Jungle Animal (which usually is a hit with the parents) and Let’s Be Animals (a tried-and-true favorite) because we got so tied up with the felts of Five Little Ducks and Five Little Pumpkins. Sometimes storytimes don’t always go as planned, and that’s okay. Just call me Little Miss Flexible.

Links!

In the top spot, I went on a semi-profane rant about this on my FB feed last night. Here’s the cleaner version: Where I work, so many of our patrons are homeless (and thus can’t prove where they’re from), and many of our tourist visitors pop in to use our express computers, which don’t require a card to log in. What kind of jerks would we be to say, “Oh, yeah, that thing about the library being free and wonderful and for everyone? Lies! All lies! Can we have $3? Thanks.” That’s not fair. The library is for everyone, and calling users – ANY USERS – “parasites” is petty and juvenile and hitting below the belt.

… if you’re freezing to death and you’re finding warmth inside a Tauntaun, you might be in a Jack London story… nope, wait, that’s Star Wars.

Forget about, my aunt Fanny. These are classics. (In fact, did I mention that some of our “staff brats” – a phrase I use with love – are reading one of my favorite elementary-age books, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry? I keep going up to them and asking them how much they love it, and they’re like, “We’re hardly into it yet. Please go away.”)

Just because you can doesn’t mean you should.

From Friend D:

How to give a book as a gift. (Although I slightly disagree with the “it’s not about you” one. I’ve given Rebecca to so many people – because it is the BEST BOOK EVER and I think everyone should read it.)

From Friend E:

One of the funniest, and most accurate, corrections ever, from Ann Patchett. #commasrule

From Mama Bear:

Not as trite as you might think.

Pan it all you want, I’ll read it. I love her.

From Sister A:

I have a Little Free Library not too far from me. I should contribute some of my books that I haven’t cracked in a while.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I just finished one of the most unusual and unique books I’ve read in quite a while.  The book is a novel about a hive. It was quite Candide-like, and went on for about 50-pages too long, but definitely fascinating. It’ll be a long time before I look at bees the same way.

Leave a Reply

