Vacation time!

Standard

I feel inclined to preface any post about time off with some disclaimer about how much I really do love my job. Because I do. But it’s natural, and normal, and necessary, and a bunch of other words, to have a vacation now and then.

This is also my first vacation – my first getaway vacation, not just a staycation or trip to the parents’ – since I started at the library over a year ago. I am going home for a day or two tomorrow, and then Sister A and I are heading off to Florida to get our dork on. (I may have mentioned it a few million times on my blog recently.)

So I won’t be posting for the next week or so, but you’ll get lots of pictures from our trip, I promise.

Links.

In the top spot, I’m not going. But I wish I were, for many reasons besides this one.

You have to put the words “gold standard” and “Colin Firth” in the same sentence. It’s canon.

I always wondered about Becky more than Sara.

Stolen from Friend R’s Facebook. Keep in mind that Hanukkah’s only a month away, folks…

From Friend D:

Get ready for a rare WWII-era Steinbeck story.

What’s it like to revisit your own first edition?

A very cool idea.

From Friend L:

Slightly awkward Voldemort problems.

From Sister A:

A family favorite turns 25.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, it’s been a weekend of comfort books, going back to some old favorites. I was in the mood for something absorbing, so I pulled out The Alienist, which I love because it’s a great Gilded Age mystery (Edward Hermann reads the audiobook!). Then I thought I’d head back to some of my tweenage books I’d loved, especially ones I’d referenced recently, so I sped through Catherine, Called Birdy, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (the audiobook is read by the late Lynne Thigpen, who, if you’re my age, will always be The Chief from Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego), and an obscure chapter book I’d gotten for my birthday once and loved, called Peppermints in the Parlor. (The best surprise of all – the audiobook is read by Dame Angela Lansbury!) For FL, I’ve put some other favorites onto my Kindle.

And that’s it for now. I’m off, chickadees – have a great week!

Leave a Reply

