Toddler Storytime, Wednesday, November 19

Standard

So I’m back from my wild and wonderful adventures with Sister A. We had a really magical time, pun completely intended.

But that’s another blog post. I’m off Friday and Monday, so I promise – promise – that I’ll post pictures and share all. (Believe me, it’s worth the wait, if I do say so myself.)

However, it’s back to work time, so let’s get back to work.

I try new things for my storytimes, and sometimes they hit their mark, and sometimes they don’t. I made Today is Monday into a felt, with all the different foods on each day of the week, and used it with my toddlers. It worked just okay, so I think I’ll try it next time with the preschoolers. As always anything by Melanie Walsh was a hit, as was 1, 2, Buckle My Shoewith such pretty embroidery illustrations.

IMG_1870

And I got a very enthusiastic pre-storytime hug from Little O, which was great, and some giggles from her baby sister, Little K. It was a warm way to come back into my first storytime.

Links!

In the top spot: we recognize the creator of a book series that was, and is, popular with the tweens, so much so that Neil Patrick Harris recently modeled his autobiography on it. Thanks for Choose Your Own Adventure, R.A. Montgomery.

Mooooooooors!

Battle of the book sorters! We just do ours by hand.

We’ll get to good reads that scared the crap out of me – see below – but Wait Till Helen Comes was an early read for me that creeped me out. (It still holds up.) What’s it like to (re-)read it as an adult? Bonus points – it takes place in Maryland! AND it’s being made into a movie (which I’m not sure I like the idea of).

“How ‘bout that Dewey Decimal System?”

I wish I were a real writer, because I’d buy this.

Stolen from Friend K’s Facebook, there were a lot of people at The Wizarding World of HP wearing shirts with #19 on them, which I want, a lot. I want all of these, of course.

From Coworker J:

I looooooooved these books (by which I mean feared), but a movie? Meh.

From Friend D:

I remember reading “The Lottery” for the first time. It unfolded so carefully and scared the pants off me, so much so that I couldn’t stop thinking about it for a few days. It was fascinating. Now there’s a petition to put Shirley Jackson, a master writer and scare artist, on a U.S. postage stamp.

There should be a question mark at the end of this headline.

I will buy this, and you will address me as Lady Annabelle.

Hate to break it to you balcony-scene lovers, but…

Not the same as Little House on the Prairie. 

You know his work, but do you know his name?

They’re really dark. You were warned.

I guess some authors are better at wrapping things up than others.

Truth.

From Friend E:

My favorite song-of-the-moment fits nicely with libraries.

From Friend M:

So many things libraries do that people STILL DO NOT KNOW ABOUT. SERIOUSLY.

From Mama Bear:

Some inventive and delightful choices here.

A lot of history here.

Don’t mess with Maurice Sendak.

Some facts you didn’t know about the Harry Potter movies.

Voila!

From Sister A:

“Lock up your daughters… Darcy’s in town.” Oh, baby.

Ramona! You know how I feel about Ramona Q.

If you’re a fan of either Matilda the book or Matilda the movie, or Bruce Bogtrotter cake, this scene – and the reenactment so many years later – is worth watching.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, over vacation, I read a book that I’d vowed years ago never to pick up again, having had to read it in Upper School, in college, and twice in my first round of grad school. But, hey, why not read it with more adult eyes, and though I read it through my Kindle app, and not the physical copy with all my notes in it, I certainly got much more out of it than I had the last time I read it, over ten years ago. (Speaking of marginalia, Coworker J said, “Oh, you have to see this, then.”) And I did just finish The Vacationers, by Emma Straub, and liked it much more than I’d expected to.

Leave a Reply

