Storytimes and more, Thursday, January 8 and Friday, January 9

Standard

Three programs in two days takes a lot out of a woman.

Yesterday I happily filled in on a toddler storytime for a coworker. (Why is it, by the way, that storytimes I pick up on the fly always seem to go so well, sometimes better than the ones I have planned for a while?)

IMG_1976

I’m trying to start a new self-policy as far as choosing books for storytime. 3 is the standard total for all storytimes but preschool, I’ve found, and two out of the three books can be old standards – ones I’ve used before – but the third one has to be new. That’s my new rule. So this way I can keep my list of standards growing, and make sure that the list is also fresh. This one’s new ones were Under My Hood I Have a Hatwhich worked really well with the cold weather we’ve been having, and Pete the Cat: Rocking in my School Shoes, which I only sort of count as new because I’ve read Pete the Cat books before.

In the afternoon, I hosted Art Attack for the teens. I’ve come to realize that I’m not terrific about planning for teens. I don’t understand them as well as I do children. But every once in a while I get a good idea, and I can translate that idea into something useful. So this time, I did. I found an interesting article on The Huffington Post linking coloring with stress reduction in adults, and boom, an Art Attack was born.

I printed out a whole bunch of semi-complicated mandalas – just google “coloring mandalas” – and printed them out. The attendees – all one of them! – loved it. We did have a good time just coloring, and I can attest that it was relaxing. So nice. Here’s my completed one:

IMG_1975

I’m handy with colored pencils.

Figuring that I had about 10 blank ones left over, and knowing that sometimes our kids might be interested in coloring, I posted mine and other completed ones – the rest of the staff wanted to get in on it, too – on the wall with a folder of the blank ones:

IMG_1974

I can’t believe this is my job.

Today was baby storytime, and I had a nice little crop of babies and little wanderers.

IMG_1978

The new book this time was A Kiss Means I Love You, which I have fallen in love with. It’s a terrific book that I’d recommend for babies up through young toddlers, I think. I’m going to add it to my “gifts for new babies” rotation, too, since I think it would make a wonderful one-on-one read-aloud book.

I”m happy to have the weekend off! I’d worked two in a row, and generally I don’t mind, but it is nice to have some time to myself. Although I am volunteering for the library for part of it, but that doesn’t really count.

No links today! And sorry, I don’t always remember to put a top spot one in.)

In What’s Annabelle Reading, Friend T had recommended an old-school YA book, The Girl Who Owned a City, which I believe was originally printed in the mid-1990s. (This is a link to the graphic novel, but I read the actual book.) It’s an early example of what we’d call dystopic today. (A world with no adults? Cool.)

Leave a Reply

