Preschool storytime, Wednesday, February 11

Standard

My preschoolers were all over the place today. I had one group that was focused and ready and paying attention, and another that was all over the room, hiding behind things, not paying attention, literally on all possible inches of the carpet. Perhaps it’s my fault, since my book theme today was silly books, and we did songs like “BINGO” and “This is the way we brush our teeth/wash our hair/etc.” So I primed them to be up and down and around.

IMG_2018

See? Silly books all over the place. It was a great storytime, but perhaps a little too active?

Summer is creeping ever closer. We’re getting ready for summer reading, and the programs – science programs galore! – and even our summer schedules. It’s February! How am I supposed to know what kind of vacation I want? It’s too early! Gah!

Links (quite a few in here about the Harper Lee/Go Set a Watchman debacle, which still floors me.)

A reminder about the good in the world.

Do other people find so much joy in visiting the library, or is it just me?

Finally, some answers from J.K. Rowling.

They had me until “sauna.”

Judge a book by its cover, why don’t you?

One of the best reviews of Divergent EVER.

Since clearly this is a recurring problem for me, I hope this will help me avoid such embarrassment in the future.

First of all, the image in the link is from the movie adaptation of The House of Mirth, which was written by Edith Wharton. So that’s a fail. Second, I’m not a huge fan of #3, but, well, it is Henry James.

From Friend D:

Don’t do it

Shooting the mockingbird.

They doth protest too much.

In non-Harper Lee news, Kurt Vonnegut is a genius.

A longread about the mysterious disappearance of someone you’ve never heard of, but should.

From Friend J:

If you subscribe to the WSJ, you can read more about how Go Set a Watchman was discovered. 

Stolen from Friend R’s Facebook:

The return (!) of the great American indie bookstore?!

From Library Friend D:

So many problems with Fifty Shades of Grey, but let’s tackle grammar first.

From Mama Bear:

To Shill a Mockingbird.

Was Lee manipulated?

The cover of Go Set a Watchman.

Shelfies! My favorite new word.

A scathing review of Anne Tyler’s new book from the NYT. (Contrast that with the Baltimore Sun‘s review, which calls Tyler’s book “among her finest“)

You guys can be his fans, but he’s my birthday twin. So there.

These are gorgeous. No argument here.

So Mama Bear is not thrilled with this guy (“AND HE DISSES THE RAVENS IN THE FIRST PARAGRAPH” is exactly how she ended her email to me with this link in it – the first half is not for family viewing), but the link is better than a case of measles.

From Sister A:

OMG YES SHE WOULD BE.

I actually met some roller derby gals this weekend, and they were awesome. I told them that my name would be Raven Maniac. You’d think I’d come up with a literary name. I can’t, because all those listed are the best, and they are taken.

He is rather a lovely little bear. (Happily, the movie seems to have gotten good reviews across the board.)

In What’s Annabelle Reading, the idea of “Dollar Princesses” was around much earlier than anyone thinks – before the Churchills and Curzons and fictional Granthams of Downton Abbey. I’d been wanting to read Sisters of Fortune for a while because they were the Caton sisters from my hometown, who were early “Dollar Princesses” of the late 1700s. Fascinating.

That was a rather daunting book, and afterwards I sped through a few: The Girl on the Trainwhich was like a British Gone Girl, and it was just fine, and the ultra-charming children’s graphic novel Smile, by Raina Telgemeier. I can’t wait to read everything else she does. (Also, being the daughter of a dentist, boy, did I get everything she was talking about!)

Next, I managed to snap up the newest Haruki Murakami, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. Reading Murakami is comfortable and comforting. I just let the words wash over me, and they’re always the right words. This was one of his shorter works – well, I suppose everything is next to his masterpiece, 1Q84At this point I can add Murakami to the list of writers I will always pick up when I hear he has a new book out. Don’t care what it’s about, what it’s called, how long it is – I will always read it.

Finally, I sped through the memoir Girl in the Dark, by Anna Lyndsey, who writes about her debilitating sensitivity to light, and how it’s affected her life. I can’t imagine.

Leave a Reply

