Pajama Storytimes, Wednesdays, March 26 and April 1

Standard

My chickadees, I’m sorry, I’ve been lazy and not updated this blog in fo-eva (wow, sorry, I hang with the tweens a lot, I’m turning into one, clearly).

Last week’s Pajama Storytime was the one week I forgot to wear my pajamas (natch) and had about 20 attendees. Whew! How about that? And of course I forgot to take pictures of the books I used, too. But I used Caps for Sale and Count the Monkeys and another book I can’t remember. Sorry.

For today’s storytime, being April Fool’s Day, I wanted to use the absolute silliest books I could find. (Part of me was thinking about just getting random Christmas and Hanukkah and Halloween books and using those, but that might just confuse the little ones, saying, “Hey, guess what, today is Halloween!”) So I stuck with plain old silly books. Again, I forgot to take pictures, but I used The Book With No PicturesCan You Make a Scary Face, we sang Peanut Butter and Jelly (a real blast from the past, that one) and read a new book, Dinosaur Kisses, which was fun! It was a small group, but a good one.

But guess what else I got to do today?

LEGOS!

Earlier this year, Neighborhood Branch applied for, and received, a grant from their Friends of the Library group to purchase some starter sets for Legos, and now has a steadily attended weekly Lego Construction Crew – that’s really what it’s called, isn’t it great? – at 4 p.m. on Wednesdays. The tagline is “We supply the Legos, you bring your imagination.” We had an enthusiastic group of mostly regulars, but some newbies, and they were so, so excited to be there, and to show me their creations, and explain the (often lengthy) backstories behind the creations.

Here are some of the masterpieces.

This one's mine. I forgot windows. But it has a swimming pool and diving board, and a ladder to the roof  where you can sit and read. Not even my idea - wish it were.

This one’s mine. I forgot windows. But it has a swimming pool and diving board, and a ladder to the roof where you can sit and read. Not even my idea – wish it were.

IMG_2090

This one was done by a mother/daughter team – a robot pool with animals in it, TVs, and a sheep somewhere. Notice the jet skis. Epic.

Done by an eight-year-old boy. Notice the flowers; he said the house wasn't complete without them. I agreed.

Done by an eight-year-old boy. Notice the flowers; he said the house wasn’t complete without them. I agreed.

Also, what are these for? (Yes, they’re paint stirrers.) You’ll find out soon!

IMG_2073

Links:

In the top spot, I can’t think of anyone who deserves it more.

In the next-to-top spot, this almost guarantees that Ready Player One will be excellent.

In the third-runner-up spot, my coworkers and I all teared up a little bit watching this. We wished we could say this is what we do in a day. (And this is why you should throw ALL THE MONEY at your local libraries.)

New children’s better book titles.

Realistic YA plots. I know a lot of teens, and these are all true.

The cover of Go Set a Watchman revealed.

Community” being the key word here.

The worlds’ most translated books may surprise you.

Alexander McCall Smith – who just rewrote GAHHHHHH Emma – on making Our Jane available to the masses.

“Free books” are two of my favorite words in the world.

NOPE NOPE NOPE.

Could you survive in the Harry Potter books? (Spoiler, I did not.)

From Friend D:

A fascinating little story about a little bookshop.

Print ain’t dead anywhere, but nowhere like in NYC.

Did you know that Mies Van Der Rohe designed the main Washington, D.C. library?

And these aren’t even the best insults. But good ones to keep in mind, should you need one.

From Friend L:

I try not to believe in “books you absolutely have to read,” but there are some cornerstones of world lit on this list.

Another Stieg Larsson book?!?!

From Mama Bear:

I refuse to post my score on the grounds it may incriminate me. Let’s just say I didn’t even hit 50%.

I got 11/15. That’s sad.

The trailer for J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy. 

Here’s the dream cast for that Little Women remake from my last post.

Libraries aren’t going anywhere – and honestly none of them are improbable.

Some sweet remembrances from Neil Gaiman about Terry Pratchett.

Mama Bear, Sister A and I all got Elizabeth, which praise Beyonce, because anyone would have been acceptable, except Mary, because she is boring.

A new museum for Dr. Seuss!

Deep.

Some bookish hotels (my trip to Brooklyn last month was possibly my first ever in which I didn’t stop into the Plaza to pay my respects to Eloise… I’m not kidding.)

Great GIFs, but the comments are the best part.

From Sister A:

Clarissa Explains it All novel in which Clarissa is all grown up! (And it bears repeating – one of the early writers of the show was The Hunger Games’ Suzanne Collins.)

Another gem by Mallory Ortberg, who wrote Texts from Jane Eyre. (Don’t skip the comments.)

Sister A and I agreed on most fronts on this (neither of us were SVH readers).

Her first one was delightful, so can’t wait to read the second. You know there’s some juicy Christopher Plummer tidbits in there.

Some fascinating secrets from the publishers behind Harry Potter. Definitely worth reading.

More HP/JKR secrets.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I read Unbecoming, another one of those unreliable narrator, manipulative female protagonist books, and it was good, in the same vein as Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. I also read one of the most fascinating books I’d read in a long time, but it was about so many topics that it could have focused on any one of them and been good. Instead, it felt jumbled. But it took place mostly in Baltimore, so hooray for that.

Leave a Reply

