Surprise Seder Puppy Storytime

Standard

Happy Easter and Passover, chickadees. This past weekend I went home to Baltimore to head to my usual Seder, the one I’ve been going to for 14 (!) years, at my friends’ (they’re sisters) S’s and N’s and their parents’ house. (By great good fortune, their parents’ house is about 10 minutes from my parents’ house, so it works out beautifully.)

This year, N got a puppy, Albert, and S asked me to bring some books to do a little puppy storytime, which I interpreted as S and N and Albert and I reading some stories. But what I had forgotten is that when S and N do something for Passover, they do it up right, so it ended up being me, the dog, and all the Seder attendees before the dinner began, and me doing a full-fledged, hardcore, pretend-everyone-is-four-years-old storytime.

Albert was legitimately the youngest one there (“Did he have a bark mitzvah?” asked Sister A, the punster of the family), but the next youngest folks were S’s and N’s cousin, a high schooler, so it was a Seder of adults, all of whom graciously sat through my storytime and pretended to enjoy it. Some of them actually may have. It was a lot of fun.

Here’s Albert, by the way. You may notice that he’s wearing a little doggie yarmulke and tallit.

IMG_2100

I read Dayenu, a little board book, which was a simplified version of the actual song, and a funny, yiddische version of the Little Red Hen story, called The Little Red Hen and the Passover Matzah, and we sang “Head, shoulders, knees and toes,” (a modified, sitting-down version), and I kept it short and sweet. What fun!

Links:

In the top spot: THE TOURNAMENT OF BOOKS! Forget your other brackets (what’s this NCAA mess?), check this out! I’m very excited about the final winner, as you’ll see at the end.

In other news, I’m still just not sure. I’m sorry, but it’s all fishy to me.

Um, ouch!

A map library? A map library.

“You have lost track of your twin again.”

The brilliant parodies on Sesame Street continue. This one? Game of Thrones.

From Friend D:

Gee, I wonder what this says about Amazon?

You need to be a little brilliant, and a little weird, to have this kind of talent.

Mad Men is back! Here are some of the literary references – and there are lots – they’ve made so far.

From Friend L:

Need some new YA to read? Here are some underrated YA series.

From Friend P:

Who wants to chip in with me??

From Library Friend D, who lives in LA:

To put on my list, and your list, and everyone’s list…

From Mama Bear:

The 11 greatest children’s books… your thoughts?

Some childhood classics – all of which particularly considered classics in our family.

Picture books are absolutely NOT JUST for kids! Some are real works of art.

With the debut of Wolf Hall this week, based on Hilary Mantel’s Man Booker-prize winning novel (and you should watch it, it’s excellent), here’s a question: could you survive Henry VIII’s amorous attentions?

From Sister A:

There is one at the school right next to Neighborhood Branch!

It’s National Poetry Month! Here are some projects to try. In Neighborhood Branch, we have up a Poet-Tree; isn’t that cute?

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I’d been on the waiting list for Station Eleven FOR. EVER. and finally, finally got it. It was worth the wait. Carefully crafted, spooky and disturbing as all hell, and one that won’t leave me for a long time. It’s obvious why it was on all the best-of lists in 2014. Not for delicate minds, though – it’s a vision of the end of our civilization as we know it, and it will hit you hard.

2 responses »

  1. Librariannabelle’s Puppy Passover Story Time was paws above the rest!! No surprise that she exceeded all of our expectations. I think it was Albert’s favorite part of the weekend aside from running around in the back yard!

Leave a Reply

