Baby Lapsit, Friday, April 24

Standard

I’m back at Main Branch, and it feels good to be home. Back into my regular schedule, knowing the same routines, and seeing my regulars (a lot of whom very kindly said, “We missed you!”). I do miss Neighborhood Branch a lot, though. A lot. More than I thought I would. People are asking me if I want to transfer, and while a transfer to that particular branch isn’t in the cards, I have been able to see the benefits of working at a branch. (Notice I’m not answering the question. I don’t know the answer.)

I do have some ideas that I hope I can bring from Neighborhood Branch to Main Branch. Some wouldn’t work, but some would work well. So I’d have to talk to Boss and see if we could put some into play. For example, some branches, like Neighborhood Branch, have strict limits on age groups in storytime. Baby time is only for babies – non-walkers, that is. At Main Branch, we’re a little more relaxed. But I think there might be a lot of benefits to sticking firmly to toddlers-only or babies-only at the posted groups. That’s something I think I’ll suggest, for one.

Today was my first storytime since being back, and it was a baby storytime. A low turnout, sadly, but I used some good books, and we all had a good time.

IMG_2128

I did make the mistake of using The Seals on the Bus for babies. I should know better to stick to the standard “Wheels on the Bus,” which I’ll do in the future.

For songs, we did our usual bounces, and I modified a version of the Hokey Pokey so that instead of singing “You do the Hokey Pokey and you turn yourself around,” you sing “You do the Hokey Pokey and you’re bouncing up and down” if you have a baby on your lap. For older kids, we can do the Hokey Pokey as usual, but for laptime, it’s hard to turn a baby 360 degrees. So that one little change worked nicely.

And now you’re going to have the Hokey Pokey song in your head for the rest of the day! HA! TAKE THAT! Welcome to my life!

Links!

This isn’t a link, but I follow “Robert Galbraith” on Facebook, and the newest book will be published this autumn! Yay! Of course you all know that Robert Galbraith is J.K. Rowling, right?

In the top spot, look who won Pulitzer Prizes!

Buns! Lots and lots of buns!

We can all agree: this is stupid.

These are hilarious, and true.

Masterpiece has optioned Elizabeth Gilbert’s (she of Eat, Pray, Love) latest book.

Stolen from Friend R’s Facebook – one should take pride in one’s personal library (assuming one has one – not having a personal library is like not having any underwear).

From Friend D:

A good spencer makes the woman.

An update on Laura Ingalls Wilder’s autobiography: you still can’t get one, so there.

This one is dedicated to my book club gals: I won’t admit which one I am!

The commuter half of me says this is really poor form, but the reader half of me says this is kind of ballsy and awesome.

From Friend E:

A lot of people are taking Jonathan Crombie’s death hard, as if Gilbert Blythe the character has been wiped out out of existence. But for all of us who loved the movie version of Anne of Green Gables, Crombie’s portrayal is absolutely equal to our vision of Gilbert. Here’s why we love(d) him.

From Friend L:

You know how I feel about punctuation, and here’s a list of why commas can make or break a sentence. Note: language.

From Mama Bear:

I don’t know if I can go, but if I can, I will, because, I mean, Judy Blume.

ABOUT FREAKIN’ TIMEhuh, amirite, Sherman Alexie?

Don’t be a wife in gothic fiction. (Spoilers!)

A crisis indeed.

Subtle, they ain’t! But all fabulous.

From Sister A:

The cover art from Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On squee!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I very much liked Beyond Belief: The Secret Lives of Women in Extreme Religions. I find extremes of any kind fascinating, and can’t imagine what it was like to have to sneak Judy Blume under my mattress or fantasize about wearing pants. This was a well-written set of vignettes.

Leave a Reply

