Ones storytime, Thursday, May 7, and Baby Lapsit, Friday, May 8

Standard

Two storytimes, an Artsy Annabelle, one extremely exciting author talk this weekend, my 200th post (!!!) and a partridge in a pear tree.

I had two disappointingly small storytimes – three adult/baby pairs today and I think six pairs yesterday – which happens, and I do love small storytimes, but it really frosts my cookies when I plan and plan and plan and then, boom, people don’t show. Sigh.

Yesterday I used three new books! (Only two are pictured here because my third book is a big book – a big version of Bill Martin’s Here are My Hands.) I particularly liked Hello, Day! because it was all animals and the sounds they make – perfect for almost any age. I can’t believe I’ve never used it before.

IMG_2169

Today, for my babies – mostly one-year-olds; no actual babies, again, sigh – I used some favorites, and another big book, Annie Kubler’s The Wheels on the Bus. 

IMG_2170

Baby books do not work well when your attendees are not actually babies.

But I did get happily artsy yesterday in my teen Art Attack. I made rolled paper beads! It is easy-peasy once you learn how. I pulled some magazines from Teen Space – one old Seventeen and one old Entertainment Weekly, sliced up some ads with some fun colors, rolled the beads around thin paintbrushes, glued those bad boys up, and voila, beads. Here’s the practice bracelet I made last week as I was prepping:

IMG_2176

Practicing a craft beforehand is essential. You can see here that the string is too thin, and I had to add plastic beads to keep the paper beads from slipping off. I realized I’d need some actual yarn to keep the beads on the string. I also realized a few other little problems as I rolled those beads that would need to be corrected.

I’m glad I worked so hard to make it right for the ZERO people who showed up. /snarky Well, nevermind, because now I have a supercool new necklace.

In other artsiness, I had some off-desk time today, and I updated a display. For lack of anything else interesting to think of, I thought, “Why not do a space display?” Here it is in full:

IMG_2177 (1)

The words say: FLY ME TO THE MOON AND TO INFINITY AND BEYOND!

Only later, after I’d finished AccuCutting them all out, did I realize that it would have been so much niftier to say FLY ME TO THE MOON AND LET ME PLAY AMONG THE STARS. What was I thinking?! Silly me. What a missed opportunity. But I didn’t want to waste the paper. Maybe halfway through the month, I’ll change it up. Although the kids never would have gotten it. Well, a Toy Story reference will work just as well.

Here’s the moon books section:

IMG_2178

And the rest-of-outer-space section:

IMG_2179

I like doing displays, and I wish I could do more.

Tomorrow is a lecture from and booksigning with Brian Selznick! And Sister A will be here for the weekend! WAHOO! So much exciting in one weekend!

Links:

In the top spot: This isn’t what you think it is.

In the second spot: ABOUT TIME, J.K.

Illustrator Marcia Brown passed away this week.

Graphic novelists’ favorite childrens’ books.

“Oh Harry, don’t you see?” Hermione breathed. “If she could have done one thing to make absolutely sure that every single person in this school will read your interview, it was banning it!” 

Not going to lie: I am SO excited to read this book. Coworker A read it in the original German; on Tuesday it was finally released in English.

More YA movie adaptations ahead.

Who could the real Mr. Darcy be?

So am I.

From Friend D:

The best F-bombs from female authors. Naturally the first one is from Judy Blume.

Art Spiegelman is a champ for many reasons.

From Friend E:

This sounds like it could be a morbid topic, but the list could go on and on.

From Friend L:

Tumblr is so brilliant. Smarter than I could ever be.

HOLY COW!

From Mama Bear:

No.

Another reason to cross the pond this fall!

If you haven’t read Station Eleven yet, you should just drop what you’re doing and go get it. 

(Another article on the above.)

Don’t let it make you mad; worth reading for the historical perspective.

JANE PAWSTEN!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I read the officially-authorized Ruth’s Journey, the story of Mammy from Gone With the Wind. I was not impressed. It’s MAMMY! GWTW’s Mammy kicks ass and takes names and nobody messes with her! Where was that Mammy in this book? Nowhere to be found.

Leave a Reply

