Toddlers, Wednesday, May 29, and Babies, Friday, May 3

Standard

My two storytimes last week couldn’t possibly have been more different.

My toddlers were almost a full house, and while I had their attention through the first book, 1, 2, 3 to the Zoo,  I rapidly lost it after the book and the song after that. And taking some advice from Kenny Rogers, I figured I wouldn’t try to keep the kids much longer, so we sang a song and adjourned. I didn’t even get to Barnyard Banternor the big-book version of Freight Train I’d planned to close with.  Maybe next time.

IMG_2208

In a complete 180, my babies were all about storytime on Friday. We could have gone on forever. “Give us more,” they cooed, smiling, clapping their hands, and drooling all over their grownups. (I don’t know. I don’t speak baby. They may have been smiling and clapping their hands and cooing, but saying “This sucks, where’s my pureed spinach?” But they looked happy, so I’m taking my wins where I can get them, okay?)

IMG_2209

Baby Love is a brand-new book that I snatched up when planning storytime. It has a refrain about kissing and hugging, which spurred some spontaneous, well… baby love! Doesn’t get any better than that. Pete’s a Pizza and My Nose, Your Nose are always popular, so those worked too.

Isn’t it funny how in just a few short years, boom, kids can change so much?

Today I have a meeting with my teen space committee to talk more about how we can make it a welcoming space, but still enforce the rules. It’s a tough balance, but I know we can do it.

Links!

In the top spot, from Sister A, this is the BEST NEWS OF MY SUMMER AND IT’S ONLY JUNE 2! Because y’all KNOW how I feel about Bill Bryson!

This takes the second spot among all my Judy-related links this installment.

Dirtbag Tess of the D’Urbervilles. (I read it for the first time in 9th grade, missed the whole point, and loved it when I reread it. Definitely worth looking into again. Thomas Hardy!)

Were you ever a Poky Little Puppy devotee? I don’t think I ever was.

In the category of “More things we don’t need…”

Mansfield Park in a nutshell, particularly if you watched the 1999 Patricia Rozema adaptation.

Glad to hear that my Texas friends are okay. But it’s funny (weird funny) that in times like these, people turn to… where else? Their library!

More problems with the New York Times’ summer reading list.

Not so much “around the world” as it is mostly “around Britain,” but they’re still gorgeous!

From Coworker A:

Her friend J works for the DC Public Library and did a reading guide from Beauty and the Beast’s Gaston. It is excellent.

From Friend D:

Here’s a chance to watch my Birthday Twin be cute.

More appropriate casting news for Doctor Strange.

Well, this is a problem.

I’m not sure a bookstore has “more to offer than all of [the] libraries combined,” but I’ll root to save a bookstore anyday.

Again, bookstores FTW.

J.K. is a BADASS! I love her!

From Friend E:

Don’t read this list on an empty tummy.

She sounds divinely interesting.

Some of the best opening lines in lit!

From Mama Bear:

I’ve said for years that the world would be a better place if we just adopted an Austenian way of life. Finally, someone’s listening.

He will never not be relevant.

It was different for all of us, but with different books and different moments, but Judy taught us all.

It’s not like the need for diversity is ever going to disappear, let’s be honest.

There is no reason to read this book. The first one was fine, thankyouverymuch. (The last line, burn!)

From Sister A:

Judy gifs!

“LIBBA BRAY” was how she titled her email about these great summer YA reads.

More John Green cuteness.

I love the part at the beginning about crying when people meet Judy Blume. She’s going to be in my town soon, and I cried when I met her, and a friend is worrying about crying when she meets her, and I was like, “Honey, we all do it.”

In What’s Annabelle Reading, the project I sneakily alluded to is finished! Friend E and I both read How to Be Bothby Ali Smith… but I read it from the beginning, and she read the second half first and then read the first half. We’re meeting to discuss it on Thursday night, at which point I’ll report our findings.

Because I love anything to do with New York City around the turn of the century, and good ole Theodore Roosevelt, I picked up this doorstop. It was interesting, yet plodding to get through.

Leave a Reply

