Bloggy Miscellany

Standard

We had rather a rainy week, which actually affected my work, would you believe.

I’m sure I mentioned my outside storytime last year, and this past week, I had one scheduled, and thanks to Mother Nature making it rainy and cool this week, mine was cancelled. Boo. The only good thing about that is that at least I can save my materials and my storytime songs, etc. for the next one I have planned.

Last year’s outside storytime tended to skew a bit older, towards preschool-age, but this year it’s been consistently leaning toward ones and twos each week, we’ve found. So I have lots of counting and repetitive songs and motion games for them planned.

I guess having a cool and rainy outdoor storytime is better than having one that’s superhot, right? Last year our storytimes were outside at 11 a.m. This year they’re at 10 a.m. Trust me, this has already made a difference!

In other news, we’ve been doing a boatload of weeding of biographies, also something I’ve mentioned before. Eventually we’ll get through the whole children’s section; we’ve already finished chapter books. For biographies, our main criteria (aside from condition; I actually threw a book covered in mold right into the trash can today) are:

  • Is it ridiculously out of date where the subject is concerned? (does the biography of Maurice Sendak talk about his “plans for his books in the 1990s?”)
  • Have new facts/developments been uncovered in regards to the subject (i.e., does a biography of Steve Jobs stop at the invention of the Apple IIe?)
  • If the book is part of the series, is the series out of date?

Here’s a perfect example of the last one, from a book about William Henry Harrison:

IMG_2242

While I’m sure the book’s facts are perfectly fine, this timeline on the book’s back cover indicates that we received it sometime while Reagan was still in office. So out it goes.

(Besides, 1) most of these books are available at other branches in our system, and 2), our system subscribes to a terrific online biography database or two or twelve, so I don’t worry that our customers are missing out.)

Links!

In the top spot: Your secrets are, and always have been, safe with us, no matter what the government says. (In L&O-speak, yes, there is librarian-customer privilege – particularly with children and teens.)

This makes sense, because apparently adolescence continues till the mid-twenties these days.

“You are being blackmailed by a swarthy fellow.” Hee.

From Coworker J:

Explain yourselves, movies.

From Friend D:

A necessary place, but it’s running out of time.

I had to write her and ask, “Is it me, or does he come off as a total douche?” Spoiler: not just me.

Some other famous books from alternate viewpoints (not just that Fifty Shades of Crap).

Who’d get any work done with these in their office? I would not. And I’d love it. Can we get one right meow?

Reading aloud to your kids is always a good idea… no matter the age!

From Mama Bear:

Aye.

Not a lot of surprises on here.

Why aren’t there any pictures? All my female friends who went sent pictures of themselves with… other awesome females.

Friend E. and I had a delightful evening on Thursday discussing our thoughts on this very book. (We both couldn’t decide if we liked it or not, despite how well-written it is.)

“If you have no road map, you have to create your own.” Can’t think of anyone more deserving.

Boring.

This is supposed to be tongue-in-cheek, right? RIGHT?

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I’m sorry to say I’ve never read any of Gary Shteyngart’s fiction. But I just read his memoir, Little Failure, and enjoyed it very much. Next is back to my Little House on the Prairie series slog-through.

Leave a Reply

