Toddler Storytime, Thursday, June 11

Standard

I’m starting to love my toddlers more and more. They used to be a difficult middle-age-group for me. Their books weren’t as clear-cut obvious as those for the babies or preschoolers; they were the wiggliest of all my storytime groups; I never felt 100% comfortable with them as I did with the other groups.

But I think that’s changed. They’re still the wiggliest, but in the way, that’s good. It’s taught me to be flexible. If they get a little wiggly, we can do a song that helps them get their wiggles out, like “Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes,” Raffi’s “Shake My Sillies Out,” or just get up and do some arm and leg shaking, or jumping jacks, or something silly. If they get a lot wiggly, and the Storytime Titanic starts sinking, then I know that it’s time to end a bit early, and that’s okay.

My Thursday storytime went beautifully. Being a little silly with this group works really well. (With preschoolers, I do try to be more serious, because the older preschoolers are going to Kindergarten – very much so, sometimes; they’re so old! – and they need to be able to sit still.) So this session’s book selections were solid choices.

IMG_2244

As it happened, most of them knew We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, though this was my first time with it. So they were happy to help me make the movements and the noises and get faster once we “saw” the bear. We sang/read Five Little Monkeys and the big book of Freight Train, which we didn’t get to last time.

What’s funny, and worth noting, is that they were getting a little wiggly by the end, when I was reading Freight Train, but I wanted to try something that had worked in the past when I was a camp counselor with teenagers. If you’re ever in a room with a bunch of loud teens, the quieter you speak when trying to get their attention, the quicker they will get quiet in their curiosity to hear what you say.

I knew it worked with teens, but I wondered if it worked with toddlers, so I decided to try it. I read Freight Train steadily and in the same volume I had with my other books, and would you believe it, I’d say about 75% of them quieted down and paid attention! Whaaaa?! Some of them were even reading along with me.

You could have knocked me over with a feather. It was great.

In other news, I need a break. I often feel like I’m turning into a fractious toddler. I get cranky in the middle of the day, knowing I need a nap or some food. I don’t want to listen to what people are saying. I want to go home. I want to go home NOWWWW. Or a nap. Maybe because it’s summer, maybe because public schools close on Friday (Beyonce help us all), maybe because it’s unrelentingly hot and humid, maybe because I need a vacation.

Links:

In the top spot: Oregon reigns supreme.

It’s about time to hear a new voice.

Ugh, just…. no. NO.

A few misfires, but some other excellent recommendations.

Oh, man, do I just love The Bad Seed

From Friend D:

Queen Victoria took a stab at a children’s book (well, way before she was Queen).

#14: Annabelle has just never liked this book.

From Friend P:

James McBride has a few things to say about To Kill a Mockingbird.

From Mama Bear:

Thank goodness for fine caps!

“Shawl insufficiency”

Sounds like a good time in my hometown

OBVIOUSLY I got P&P!

True – traditionally it’s a Mommy job, amirite?

This whole story is weird, but how dare they drag Madeline into it?

I am a logolept.

Probably another bad idea in a series of bad ideas?

Mostly agreed, except for Alexander and…. 

For obvious reasons, and we salute you.

From Sister A:

Jeez, where don’t I read? Where do you read?

Quite Brit-centric, Mama Bear and I agreed, but, well, can’t complain. (Where’s Charlotte A. Cavatica, ahem ahem??)

The new Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling cover!

“Hello, I’m an illustrator, I know this sounds weird, but could I draw your child and not tell you what it’s for?”

In What’s Annabelle Reading, The long experiment of rereading The Little House on the Prairie series is finally over. They were fine, but I can clearly see why 8-year-old me wouldn’t have enjoyed them. The last few books, with teenage Laura having friends, going to parties, etc., I enjoyed much more than flipping pages through descriptions of Pa building a door. Ugh.

In other news, I also read Emily Gould’s Friendshipwhich was meh, since I didn’t particularly care about either protagonist in said friendship, and The Hangman’s Daughter, which was a nice little historical mystery from Germany.

Leave a Reply

