Outdoor Storytime, Thursday, June 1

Standard

Having outdoor storytime at 10 a.m. this summer instead of last year’s 11 a.m. slot was a smart idea. Very smart. Just the one hour makes a difference in both heat and humidity. I find that the children are more attentive, too, and less fixated on lunchtime (as I would naturally be, as well, even at 35).

I forgot to take pictures, sorry, but we read Look Whooo’s CountingWho Says Woof, and sang/read Peanut Butter and Jelly, which the kids really enjoyed. The group was mostly a mix of one- to three-year-olds, so these books worked well. I’d also brought my Old McDonald flannels, but it turned out that the half-hour passed quickly and I didn’t even have time to use them.

Yesterday was the first Thursday that we had our Ones (10 a.m.) and Preschool (11 a.m.) storytimes in the Great Hall of the library. As you may remember, last Thursday’s storytimes were hella crowded. The strollers, the adults, the daycares – it was too much. We couldn’t do it anymore. The bonuses of having the storytime in the Great Hall were plentiful:

  • Kids can have their snacks there;
  • There’s plenty of running-around room;
  • We don’t have to cap the attendee number;
  • We’re not pressed for space;
  • The A/V is set up so we can show a short Scholastic cartoon book adaptation (we showed a William Steig one yesterday) between the storytimes, and the timing was perfect;
  • People can come to both storytimes if they want; etc. etc.

The only downside is that the area is open to the public, so we do need the accompanying adults to be quite watchful of the kids. Our numbers really reflected that – we had quite a lot of attendees! So far, so good!

The other good news is that all through the summer, on Saturdays, rather than our regular storytimes, we’re having performers and presenters – a storyteller one week, a magician this week, capoeira dancers next week, etc. etc. Very exciting.

Links!

It would be inappropriate to make my top link anything other than a link to Cynthia Hurd’s obituary, and noting her commitment to her library and its patrons in Charleston, South Carolina. Hurd died Wednesday in the shooting at Emanuel AME Church.

Contributions to her memory (in the form of books, obviously) are being accepted here:

Andria Amaral, c/o Charleston County Public Library, 68 Calhoun Street, Charleston SC 29401.

Now a part of history.

From Mama Bear:

In my non-scientific study I have conducted, people don’t remember their second-grade homeroom teacher, but they remember their Lower School librarians.

For such a crappy writer, some surprisingly solid book choices.

From Friend L:

Poor Voldy. Never gets a chance, that guy.

From Friend P:

Huge advances in reading apps for people with disabilities.

From Friend T:

“Ye Gods!” she wrote in an email. Please don’t mess this up, Starz.

NSFW. Not safe for life. Not safe for your eyes. UGH.

In today’s installment of What’s Annabelle Reading, I read the novella Binary Star, which was took me a while to get into, but I liked the writing. Then I read Orphan Train, which a bunch of people told me to read. It was unabashedly predictable, but surprisingly moving.  Finally, I finished 10:04, which… I don’t know. I never know whether books I find pretentious either really are or are amazing and I can’t see it. I say: pretentious.

Leave a Reply

