Maker Camp and Me

Standard

I’m not science-y. I guess that goes without saying. Because, come on. If I had a science-y bone in my body, I don’t think I’d be a librarian. And I’d have done a helluva lot better in school. I’d understand how soda machines work and how televisions broadcast and telephones send calls. It was later in life than I’d care to admit that I accepted that elves were involved in none of these things.

So I was really, really, super skeptical when I learned that my system and, specifically, my branch would be participating in Google’s Maker Camp this year. Two words: compulsory science. I’d have sooner climbed into a soda machine and worked it myself.

But as I saw the weekly themes, and some of the ideas, I got into it. They really were neat. My coworkers made cardboard guitars and pipe cleaner ninjas and volcanoes and all kinds of other stuff. For my maker camp days, I made flip books (for Fantasy Week (or films; we got creative). For Fun and Games Week, the kids and I did library domino run. (Epic.) Yesterday, for Flight Week, we made catapults out of popsicle sticks and rubber bands and shot puffballs, beads, and coins across the room, hypothesizing about which would go the farthest, or the highest, and why. (I won’t say here which were the most interesting results, in case you want to try it on your own.) But weirdly, I was throwing out terms like “hypothesize” and “trajectory.” I used the word “fulcrum” WITH ABANDON, blithely tossing it around. How weird is that? All of a sudden, I was being science-y.

And it’s like I was tricked into enjoying it, too.

(I really wish I could upload the video I took of the domino run. Gah.)

It ends next week, and I’m sad. I’m going to try making LED bracelets next Thursday…we’ll see if that works!

Links:

The top spot goes without hesitation to a link from my former deskmate, Deskie, for this excellent skit. Warning: language.

I studied abroad in Bath in 2000. I’m so proud of the Uni for this.

Shady, shadier, shadiest. 

My answer? McGonagall. “You are a raging badass.” True.

The Midnight Library is a storytime surefire hit, so I’m glad it’s included on this list, anyway.

From Friend D:

An extraordinarily useful list (unfortunately, I have compiled a list of princess books for families because we get requests for them all. the. time.)

A harder quiz than one might think!

An annotated Alice in Wonderland. It will suck you in.

The Man Booker Prize longlist!

Translating nonsense words is a challenge.

Anything that gets boys reading is a plus in my book. And this location is a no-brainer.

How do editors edit? A look at Dr. Seuss’ editor’s work on the former’s latest book.

“A Tale of Two Edgars”

From Mama Bear:

This would be grounds for divorce.  Update: Judy saved that marriage.

I think the guy who wrote this was on hallucinogens.

Or not, because this is happening, despite Sister A’s and my strongest objections.

Take a look! It’s in a book! And now on Netfliiiiiiiiix!

A Wrinkle in Time isn’t everyone’s cup of tea (it wasn’t mine, I’ll admit), but it changed the face of children’s sci-fi/fantasy writing.

Seriously, there are soooooooooooo many more children’s authors out there beyond Dr. Seuss that this discussion is moot.

Another reason to love SImon Pegg.

From Sister A:

Pippi Longstocking FTW.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I enjoyed Caitlin Moran’s How to Build a Girl (music, England, coming-of-age, check, check, check), but I’ve loved her writing everywhere I’ve seen it, so that’s no surprise.

I tried to read Dark Roomsbut used my Nancy Pearl 50-page rule and gave up, realizing I didn’t care one whit about a single character.

Leave a Reply

