Toddler Storytime, Thursday, August 13

Standard

How good it is to be back in front of a huge crowd again.

On Thursday I had about 75 (? I can’t remember, forgive me) toddlers for my storytime in our Great Hall. It’s a little odd to get used to: you’re performing not in a small, enclosed room, but in a huge space, where anyone and everyone in the library can see you. I likened it on my Facebook status to being a dancing monkey. It was odd.

Even more odd was that I went right after Coworker M (the one who’s been brought in to do most of our storytimes). She was fantastic. Watching her made me feel brand-new to storytiming, but I did pick up some tactics that will work well. For instance, she uses a maraca to begin storytime with a little song, rather than a booming “Hello!” like I do. I like her way better than mine, so perhaps I’ll use it too with some of my high-energy groups.

(I’m going to start calling Coworker M Mary Poppins. Why? She came to us suddenly, she works miracles, and we don’t know how long she’s going to stay.)

I forgot a picture of what I read, and I forgot the books. Don’t hate me, chickadees.

In other news…

Friend E went to Istanbul for work (why do I not go to Istanbul for work?) and sent me a picture of some nifty street art:

FullSizeRender

I highly agree.

Links!

Top spot: A fascinating obituary of the woman who gave us Stone Soup

In the second spot, Michael Berenstain, son of Stan and Jan, puts the Berenst#in theory to rest.

How do you make this a movie?

I truly don’t know anyone born in the USA who never had a Golden Book.

Say hello to your friends! / Babysitters Club! / Say hello to the peeeeeeople who care! / Nothing’s better than friends! / Babysitters Club! / ‘Cause you know that your friends are always there! (Don’t look at me like that. You know all the words too.)

From Friend D:

I hate Ayn Rand.

Do you know what Dolly Parton has been doing to encourage literacy? Most people don’t.

A new Tolkien story?!?!

Jane Austen + Onion headlines = a match made in heaven. Too funny!!!

From Library Friend D:

This melts my grinchy little heart.

From Mama Bear:

It’s always nice when stuff we figured we knew gets scientifically proven.

More Ayn Rand. (But Mallory Ortberg is my spirit animal.)

From Sister A:

So purty.

From librarians to Jenny Lawson (a.k.a. The Bloggess): we love you too.

What a little sweetheart. (And don’t worry if you tear pages, people – that’s what book tape is for.)

In What’s Annabelle Reading, ugh, I’m so embarrassed, but I needed something light and fluffy to read by the pool last weekend so I read this. Don’t judge me. It’s such a terrible book, so self-indulgent, but it was there, so whatever.

Then I read If I Fall, If I Diewhich wasn’t quite what I was expecting it to be about, but it was mostly well-written, so it was fine.

Then! Then!!! THENNN!!!!! I picked up the epic Seveneves by Neal Stephenson. This was the first of his that I’d made it through. And goddamn, was it worth it. It’s almost 900 pages of space gobbledygook, but the idea of humanity trying to save itself will stick with me for a while. I couldn’t put it down. READ THIS BOOK.

Leave a Reply

