Pajama Storytime, Monday, September 14, 2015

Standard

PAJAMA STORYTIME IS BACK!

Well, for me. It’s starting at Main Branch (you remember how I did it at Neighborhood Branch, where it’s been a staple for a while). But it’s starting at Main Branch, and naturally I was all over it.

I even have a set of PJ’s that I keep at work just for the occasion – thank you, Goodwill.

There were five attendees (adults and kids together), but that’s a pretty good turnout for a first storytime. I advertised through Facebook, word of mouth to customers and in storytimes, on our storytime flyer, and on two neighborhood listservs. Not bad.

Due to my failing memory in my old age, I forgot to take a picture of what I read, but I did read Piggies in Pajamas, Mama Cat Has Three Kittensand Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy. (I had some other books planned, but when I saw that I was skewing young, I switched up the books at the last minute. Flexibility!)

Our weeding project is coming along swimmingly. Finally, we’ve finished biographies. (That makes chapter books and biographies, which doesn’t sound like much, but we’ve created a boatload of shelf space. Pretty amazing.) Next we’re moving on to our series books. A lot of them are popular, but I think we’re going to have to look mostly at duplicates. We don’t need four copies of a particular Rainbow Fairy or Magic Tree House book; we can easily redistribute them to other branches, which will probably be the outcome of our project, at least in this section.

Links!

In the top spot is Jane Austen, of course, because there is no such thing as too much Jane Austen. (On a personal note, this photoessay gives fabulous views of my city, Bath. Well, not *my* city. But I lived there for a semester, and I miss it dearly.)

If you don’t recognize the name “Valerie Tripp,” you are not really an American Girl fanatic.

Librarians on the move. (I can never repeat how important outreach is.)

Captain Underpants is cool anyway, but this cemented its awesomeness.

Family friend Jill Morrow’s latest blog post, about how LOUD the online world can be.

Voldemort is French, *insert Maurice Chevalier laugh here*

As you can tell from What’s Annabelle Reading, I have some really, really strange tastes in books. I LOVE books about alternative and extreme/extremist groups. (Not alternative groups like being gay or lesbian, but, say, cults. Or the Amish. Or hermits. Prostitutes. Serial killers. Agoraphobes. Things like that.) Want some YA books about cults? Sure you do.

Some bookstores get ultra-creative with their signs. That makes me want to give them my 401K.

From Friend D:

“Just because we’re stranded doesn’t give you the right to use non-inclusive language,” Jack said.

Some people might have a problem with this. I’m still okay with it. It hasn’t crossed that line yet.

Sometimes you need a little somethin’ to get the juices flowing…

Super gorgey new illustrated Harry Potter editions!

Put all of these on your reading list. ALL OF THEM.

From Friend E:

A new installment of literary tattoos.

From Friend G:

Awwww.

From Friend P:

No surprise to me. And I’d bet that a good chunk of you folks reading this also read before bed.

From Mama Bear:

Big names here

Selfless and lovely and kind – and YA authors. Their generosity is so moving.

Yet another adaptation of Sherlock Holmes. I guess this makes it one million and one?

But you would want to put all of these on your walls.

Looking like another winner (and behemoth) from Brian Selznick (Sister A’s and my friend, you know).

From Sister A:

Lizzie Skurnick, from across the pond.

Love Harold, and love the tributes!

And the only poem Sister A and I know by heart.  (Wait, I do know “I never saw a purple cow…” by Gelett Burgess….)

In What’s Annabelle Reading, you know how I love weird British history. Here’s a plum example of how weird it can get. Mistaken identity! Victorian intrigues! I love it. Next, I read a strange, well-written book that I’m still processing. Half murder mystery, half novel of magical realism, I’m not sure what to think. Certainly unusual.

Finally, I read an advance readers’ copy of a children’s chapter book that Boss may – and should – require all of us to read in my department. It didn’t take me very long; I read it in one commute. It was charming and moving, and at times, difficult to read. Times are changing, people, so we need to change with them, whether we like it or not.

Leave a Reply

