Baby Storytime Thursday, October 22 and Preschool Storytime, Monday, October 26

Standard

I’m back, my chickadees, and I promise I’ll have a trip-themed post about what I saw and did in the U.K. quite soon. But I came back and jumped into my storytimes without a pause, and now here we are, with me slacking on my posts, as usual.

My babies were so cute on Thursday. No infants are itty-bitty babies, but no one over a year, so that was fine with me.

In keeping with the 65% songs/fingerplays and the 35% reading percentages, I used only two books this time, which sticks with my usual choices for Babytime:

IMG_2791

Two tried-and-trues with my behbehs. I love them. And around 8-12 months, those are just the ages when they start responding to the songs, waving their hands in the air for “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” and patting their legs for “Baa Baa Black Sheep.” (Except this time, we used the egg shakers! Everyone loves the egg shakers! Especially to gnaw on, so I used some wipes on them afterwards to get all the baby cooties off.)

Yesterday I had a class of toddlerish preschoolers, or maybe very young preschoolers, and it was the “Around the World Storytime slot. So I did my best with my very limited Spanish:

IMG_2797

With Green is a Chile PepperI had them point to the color we were talking about on the rainbow mats they always sit on. Every book can be interactive in SOME way. While there are stories with plots that will suck kids in, younger kids in storytime often can’t sit still for those. So I like to find some way to have them “help me tell the story.” Rachel Isadora’s Say Hello! is one I’ve used often with older kids, since they say “hello” in different languages right along with the book’s main character.

We also did Five LIttle Pumpkins, which I’ve noticed – at least among my day cares and preschools – is standard across the board. The children all know the words, and their hand motions are adorable. (I tried to find something on the interwebs with the motions, but couldn’t. I’m sure you, my smart chickadees, can figure them out from the words.)

Links:

This blog’s top link: watch and be mesmerized.

In the “Ave Atque Vale” spot reserved for thanks and love: Vera B. Williams.

I will be wearing one of these on Friday to a party.

I don’t care if I’ve posted these before; maybe I have. But they’re just so good.

My note to myself pre-posting: “Great Scott, this is bad.”

From Friend D:

If you hadn’t told me what this was, “baby rattle” would not be the first thing that came to mind.

The little jokes that sprout from Lewis Carroll’s brain.

Reading and writing are inextricably linked.

All those books, in a building bought for a dollar.

Did you ever think that “Bloom County” and Go Set a Watchman would be linked?

A physical book is like eating a great meal in a beautiful restaurant with a fantastic view; an e-book is like eating that same meal from a takeout box on your lap in a basement.”

Does this make you think?

Normally, I’d be like, “Just give me a regular book,” but the idea of “literary geocaching” – where do I sign up?

Oh my I love me some Eloise.

From Friend L:

Here come these bookends to save the day!

Well, THIS is going to be a good time.

From Friend P:

Hee, Laurapalooza.

From Friend R:

Take me there now.

From Mama Bear:

How professional readers read for pleasure.

A look inside the penny book trade.

Can you imagine the stories behind these?

The sweetest little movie you will watch in a long forever.

Well, good, at least someone gets it.

Kind of not the greatest review for Robert Galbraith’s (coughcough J.K. Rowling cough cough) new book.

More genius from Mallory Ortberg: things men in literature have died from.

From Sister A:

It’s still going, too.

See below for more about The Royal We. In the meantime: hmmmmmmmmm….

… but then I sent this to Sister A on the same topic.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I did a lot of reading since I left!

On the plane, I read Texts from Jane Eyre, by Mallory Ortberg, who I think is a goddess, frankly, because she’s so damn clever. This was a truly funny book – I would have enjoyed it more if I’d read more classics and known those references. Then, during my trip, I reread The Royal Webecause, hey, England, why not, and actually liked it a lot more the second time around. Since I’ve said more than a few times here that 2015 is the 200th anniversary of the first U.S. printing of Emma, I thought I’d read that, but Mansfield Park was calling to me (and I was in BATH, which = Our Jane). So I read that instead and enjoyed it thoroughly.

(Three books in six days away. Not bad.)

I came home and had two holds waiting for me: China Rich Girlfriendthe disappointing sequel to Crazy Rich Asians (I mean, it was okay, just not as good as the first one), and Luckiest Girl Alive, which is among the most recent of the books to receive a blurb toting it as “Gillian Flynn-like,” a sentiment with which I disagree. I would have read it with different eyes if it hadn’t said that on the front.

Leave a Reply

