Toddler Storytime, Friday, December 4

Standard

I was thrilled to do a surprise! storytime on Monday – I haven’t been doing nearly as many as I’d like, which is my own fault for signing up too late – and rounded up some new books to do with the little ones. They were almost all successful.

IMG_2891

Hop, Hop, Jump! was a good way for them to get their sillies out, and Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed needs no discussion. I personally loved Beep! Beep! Go to Sleep!but it would have been better suited for the preschool crowd, who generally love robots more and would have understood the twist ending, which was lost on this crowd.

Yesterday we had a fabulous storytime training. Have you heard of Mother Goose on the Loose, my dear chickadees? It’s a quite specific method of storytime: focused, drum-tight, and set in a routine, and I’m looking forward to trying it. We were trained by the creator of the program, and even got to participate in a sample storytime, as if we were the kids. (Note: you can be trained all you want, but you won’t really “get” it until you see the storytime in person.)

I haven’t mentioned my Sisterly Thanksgiving Field Trip yet. While at home visiting our parents, Sister A and I took a trip to Hagerstown to see an art exhibit near and dear to our hearts.

Who didn’t grow up with Golden Books?

IMG_2875

It brought back so many memories for us (and we’re in our 20s and 30s) – most of the exhibited artwork was from books published in the 1950s, so it would have made much more an impression on Mama Bear and Daddio, I’m sure. My favorite piece was done by Richard Scarry, about whom more later.

It was only a small exhibit, but they did have some fun interactive action for the kiddos.

IMG_2879

(Or non-kiddos like myself, as the case may be.)

Later, we hit up our favorite used bookstore – it was Small Business Saturday, so we were happy to give them our patronage on that day, of all days, and I snagged a copy of my first favorite book ever, Richard Scarry’s Best Word Book Ever (I literally went through copy after copy as a toddler, and may have actually torn one or two copies to shreds.) I already own a copy, but the one I purchased that Saturday was from the mid-1960s and cost me all of $4.

Now, you may remember a recent brouhaha about how the Best Word Book Ever has changed over the years, so when we got back home, Sister A and I put the two copies cover to cover to see the differences. We paged through them, and boy, have they changed. There is no more Wild West page with depictions of “Indians” and “Squaws” (YIKES).

Here’s a side-by-side cover comparison.

IMG_2886.JPG

How many differences can you spot on the cover alone between the original and the revised edition? The policeman is now a female police officer; Papa Rabbit is now helping with breakfast; women can be farmers too… etc. etc. Oh, the times they are a-changin’.

Links!

In the top spot, from friend L. For Harry Potter fans: the Weasley twins’ fates were right in front of us all along…

This is frankly unsettling.

From Friend D:

Because Turkish Delight is a mystery to Americans, as you’ll see in this article.

The same Dutch architecture firm has been tasked with redoing the main branches of the New York and Washington, D.C. public libraries.

NO. DO NOT PASS GO.

The story is more than the headline.

Well, learn something horrifying every day.

From Friend G:

Excellent choices; I approve, NYT.

From Mama Bear:

Nice to see that President Obama was also at a bookstore for Small Business Saturday. (Where did he get the cash from? Does he go to ATMs? How does that work for the President? Does he just hop out of a limo and stop at the nearest Chase? These are the questions that keep me up at night.)

All the more reason  to go to the Hunterian Museum if you’re in London. It’s fantastic, and like a less outrageous Mutter Museum.

Goucher shoutout holla! #Emma

A love letter to Reading is Fundamental.

Poor grammar makes me, like, go bananas.

Need a new podcast, booklovers? Look no further.

From Sister A:

I hope our Teen Space looks this good after our remodeling!

More Daphne du Maurier from The Toast for your viewing pleasure.

A follow-up to Mama Bear’s link on Emma.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I read a Judy Blume I’d never read before – one that I’d skipped somehow in my original pre-teen foray through. Don’t judge me!

Then I read a YA book that I loved. It has so much heart, and a protagonist that you will love. I highly recommend it.

And then! There are a bunch of authors “updating” Jane Austen novels, and I managed to get hold of an advanced readers’ copy of Eligible, Curtis Sittenfeld’s retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Honestly? I liked it. *ducks from tomatoes*

Most recently, I finished a book I didn’t like very much, but had to wait on the holds list for (isn’t that always the way?). It was… meh. I know Sister A read it, but forgot to ask her how she liked it.

Leave a Reply

