Snow What’s Up?

Standard

Hello from a snowy East coast. I don’t have a huge amount to say, but I do have a huge amount of links, so that’s where this post will go.

I did do a baby storytime on Thursday, January 21, but it’s not really worth mentioning. I hardy remember what was happening at the time, since I was coming down with something, and I knew it. (About an hour later, I ended up being quite sick with a 48-hour-bug, but I’m fine now.) I did read Baby Love and One is a Drummer (which goes up to ten, but we only counted up to five). Remember, you don’t have to read the whole book, front to back, beginning to end. Do what’s right for the storytime and your audience.

And you. At the time, I knew my breakfast wasn’t going to stay put for long, and the dancing elephants in the corners of the room weren’t supposed to be there, so I chugged through storytime and did the best I could.

In exciting news for my department, we’re now allowed to make our own labels! This sounds silly, but it gives us new autonomy. It saves us a LOT of time; we’re not sending books to cataloging and waiting for them to come back, to be fixed in a process that takes, literally, 30 seconds.

Here are my first labels. Aren’t they pretty?

IMG_2987

Our labelmaker is clearly the most valuable member of our department.

Coworker J turned me on to the fact that a library in New York put together “storytime boxes” in the 1980s. Check out the space one, for instance, or the dental hygiene one. Interested in turtles? That one has a puppet! There are a few libraries, I know – my hometown system has a branch that lends backpacks of themed books – that offers these. Pop into your local library and see if they do, too.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention how valuable an addition Alan Rickman was to literary adaptations. From the Vicomte de Valmont in Les Liasons Dangereuses on Broadway almost 30 years ago, to Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility, to Severus Snape in the Harry Potter series, and in his upcoming final role as the voice of the Blue Caterpillar in Disney’s Alice Through the Looking Glass.

Here, then may be the best place to put the link that Friend T sent me. Thank you, Alan.

Links!

My top links will share what to look forward to in 2016…

From the NYT (Sister A)Flavorwire (Friend E)Buzzfeed

Brian Selznick’s Wonderstruck is being made into a movie.

From Camp Friend D:

I could add a few to this list

From Friend D:

WORK IT GIRL

Coloring pages! Yay!

Look, let me tell you, if a man read aloud (the right book) to me, I’d dig it.

OY. Do NOT get me started on this crazy.

“7.5 percent of nearly 6,000 picture books published between 1900 and 2000 depict female animal protagonists.” WHAT?

What is going on in Hong Kong?

Accurate sketches or no?

Want to be creepy, like Edgar Allan Poe? You can.

The story of Margaret Wise Brown is a fascinating one; she’s worth learning more about.

Pajama pants and drinking. Sounds a lot like my writer friends.

Apps are getting the better of us.

Thoughts about fictional detectives.

The trailer for Stephen King’s 11.22.63.

Emma Watson continues to be amazeballs: this time with a feminist book club.

Have you seen David Bowie’s list of favorite books? He was a voracious reader.

From Friend L:

Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite book, too.

From Friend P:

Does your library lend ukeleles? It should!

From Mama Bear:

MY LIFE.

From Sister A:

An excerpt from Raina Telgemeier’s new graphic novel!

Friend E and I just watched A Walk in the Woods last week. (I wanted to love it, but, alas.) I’m glad the NYT got around to asking Bill Bryson to participate in By the Book.

It’s not till later this spring, but excitement about Beverly Cleary’s 100th is starting!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I’ve read a lot since 2016 began. I started off with the most recent book in the Millennium series, The Girl in the Spider’s Web. It was quite faithful to the original Stieg Larsson trilogy. Next, I picked up Simon Pegg’s autobiography, which was a lot of cheeky fun.

I’m hoping to read more international literature this year, so I picked up a book by Colette – my first! – Claudine at School, which was prettily written and more sexual than I’d expected for a book about a schoolgirl. Then I read the two newest YA books in the Lizzie Skurnick list: one, a story about a Puritan girl, and another a Louise Fitzhugh I’d never heard of.

Finally, I finished an advance reader’s copy of a historical novel about Lady Jane Grey and then next a YA book that I read and promptly forgot.

Leave a Reply

