Babies, Babies, Everywhere

Standard

And I am very happy!

Last week I had the chance to hop to a branch library and help them out with three baby storytimes in a row: 10:30, 11:30, and 12:15. This was in a different neighborhood from us, and I was particularly interested in seeing what these storytimes would look like, specifically because all three were apparently full, and all had different personalities. It was true! I liked being a “guest storytimer” at this branch, and it was fun to meet a whole new section of babies.

Funnily enough, when I came back to my branch and did another baby storytime, I had a full house here too. Coincidence? You decide.

IMG_3028.JPG

These two books have always been crowd-pleasers. One Hungry Baby is a traditional book for baby storytime, and has lots of opportunities for movement and baby cuddles. Do You Love Me is a sweet book – good for talking about noses – but is the kind of cutesy book a grownup might get for his/her boyfriend/girlfriend for Valentine’s Day. It also just happens to work well for baby storytime; all the better for me.

One of the perks in working at the main branch is that you never know what will be happening. For instance, I walked in this morning at 11 a.m. to start my shift, and there was the mayor, talking about tax season. Life is funny sometimes.

I want to show off two amazing bulletin boards my coworkers did outside our Teen Space. I wish I could take credit for these, but I can’t. The first is by Coworker L:

IMG_3055

This second, by Coworker G:

IMG_3056

(I had to cut out part because it had our library website in it.)

Great, right?

Yesterday we had an external group come in and show us how to make light-up LED valentines. I was thrilled I didn’t have to take the lead on this, because I’m not much of a science person – have I mentioned this before? – but they were easy to do, and we had a great turnout of tweens and teens.

Here’s the inside: you have the circuit wire all in place, with the lightbulb and the battery ready to go…

IMG_3058

and then you fold over at the dotted line, and hey presto:

IMG_3059

The circuit is complete and the bulb lights up.

Yay, science!

Links!

The top story: apparently, these things just happen.

A short but moving piece from My Birthday Twin.

I am ultra-excited to see this movie, so it being pushed back makes me irritated.

Beatrix Potter has a new story… with some, er, interesting (and familiar!) illustrations.

From Coworker J:

As someone who just saw Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (it was fun, go see it!), this is hilarious.

From Friend D:

For all Sherlockians, near and far.

Enough, enough, enough with To Kill a Mockingbirdplease.

HARRY POTTER’S BIRTHDAY OF COURSE.

How old libraries become new (or don’t)

An excellent question – why aren’t we reading natives?

Lionsgate, please do not mess these movies up! #JackandAnnie

“Books of Love” – Nigerian romances.

Haaaa, haa, that’s… that’s funny.

Impossible, unmappable – you can’t do this.

Libraries as social services.

“I felt like someone had stabbed me in the heart.”

Subscription libraries are not so much a thing of the past.

Oh, please, they’re not going anywhere.

How adaptations are adapted – this one, a story from The Martian.

Most librarians I know would probably like the flask best.

From Friend G:

Where the Wild Things Aren’t, indeed.

From Friend R:

Everyone who is not a librarian is shocked by this. Librarians are like, eh. Don’t read while eating.

From Friend T:

Whit Stillman and Our Jane? This could be interesting.

From Mama Bear:

Bath is included, obviously. 

I do not have a reading problem! Psshht.

So many winners on this list. Particularly the last, which, as you know, is a favorite of Sister A and me.

From Sister A:

I love you, Baltimore!

30 years of solid historical fiction… and yeah, overpriced dolls.

“Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.”

Oy vey ismir. About time.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, everyone had been talking about this book, and while I liked it, I didn’t love it. Still, a good read.

Next, a book I must devote some words to: Look Who’s Back.  Yes, it’s a book about Hitler. Yes, it’s funny, but it’s also frighteningly written in Hitler’s “voice” – that is to say, the author has clearly studied Mein Kampf and the way Hitler speaks and writes. Do read it, and even watch it – Netflix is getting on that boat, too.

Finally, I read a historical novel that was sort of like The Crimson Petal and the White + Fight ClubIt got better as it went on.

Leave a Reply

