Something old, something new

Standard

My schedule is going to change a little once June hits. Not outrageously differently, but just enough so that I won’t be doing Pajama Storytime anymore.

Sigh. Such is life. But for the past few months, I’ve had hardly anyone show. It’s been difficult.

So last week, when I did my last one, and had a turnout of ten – TEN! – I was really happily surprised. Then, one of my favorite preteens (a boy!) asked if he could help out by reading one of the books. You bet, I told him. And he was great.

IMG_3229

Everyone loves Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed (the kids requested we read it first, so hey, why not?), and they were happy to read The Noisy Way to Bed (animal noises are always a hit, no matter what age kids are), but having Patron M read them Hug Machine  was the real highlight. For me and for them.

It’s Thursday, so that means: Baby Lapsit! Today I realized I hadn’t used the egg shakers  in a while.

Tangent: egg shakers are useful for any age storytime. With the oldest kids, you can work on shaking fast and slow, low and high, and stopping. With the youngest kids, it’s a matter of just gripping and holding; whether or not they shake at all is incidental.

For Baby Lapsit today, loving themed storytimes as I do, I built it around the egg shakers and some songs I’d found through Jbrary.

IMG_3250

We read Cheep! Cheep!  first (the terrycloth illustrations are adorable) and then moved on to the shakers, which were naturally the highlight. As I’d expected, the babies didn’t really shake – they were more interested in sucking on them and playing with them – but I had enough eggs so that the adults and the babies each got an egg, so the babies could see what the eggs were for.

We sang and shook, shook and sang, and a good time was had by all.

Then we read Barnyard Banter, sang “Baa Baa Black Sheep” and two verses of “Old MacDonald,” and that was it. A happy barnyard storytime for my babies!

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I was fascinated by The Fishing Fleet: Husband-Hunting in the Raj, an absorbing account of women in the Victorian era who went searching for husbands in India. (The gender ratio then was one woman to four men. Hello!) It was compulsively readable and exotically romantic.

Then I read one of those children’s chapter books that should be labeled “NOT JUST FOR KIDS,” because it was smart and funny and, frankly, is right up there, cleverness-wise, with The Westing Game. For a puzzle-loving librarian, this was right up my alley, full of in-jokes and book references. Go pick it up, bibliophiles. (Right now I’m reading the sequel, which is just as great.)

Leave a Reply

