Preschool Storytime, Tuesday, June 14

Standard

Happy Flag Day.

I had a whole storytime planned around Flag Day because I was supposed to have preschoolers for my storytime. But since no preschoolers showed up – I had toddlers –  I had to scrap the whole thing and scrabble together a storytime for toddlers. I didn’t get any pictures, but we did Chu’s Day (thank goodness Neil Gaiman’s picture books are nothing like his adult or even children’s chapter books), Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing, and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons.

Like I said, it was an emergency, so I had to get my stuff together and quickly. None of the parents participated, the kids were generally unruly, and I was not feeling it. But luckily, my new fingerplays went well:

“Five Little Apples” (I made five felt apples with our Accu-Cut):

Five little apples in the bowl

One fell out and started to roll

It bumped the table and hit my feet

How many apples left to eat?

And then you count down from there.

It wasn’t quite seasonal, but I did “Five Little Snowmen,” too:

Five little snowmen, standing in a row

Standing tall in the deep, cold snow

Out came the sun shining hot all day

And one little snowman melted away

Again, we counted down from there. They really liked those rhymes.

Last week I had a toddler storytime – a real one, scheduled to be a toddler one – and somehow it all worked out.

IMG_3294

I read Hooray for Hat! again, as an experiment, and learned that it works with all ages, but best with preschoolers. Melanie Walsh has a few in the same vein as Do Pigs Have Stripes? and all of them have been successful. This one I pulled off the shelf at random; I’d use any of them. I like The Seals on the Bus because it’s a nice alternative to the usual song, and it brings in wild animals, which kids always like.

I’m in a funk – boo.

In What’s Annabelle Reading, I read a YA book called The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, which was… fine, but if I’m going to read a book about someone born with an abnormality, just give me Geek Love, which did it best.

Then came two ARCs in a row: June, which started rough and I only liked half of it (damn these split books, half in flashback, half in modern times), and yesterday I read Look at You Now, a memoir that was quite moving and even a bit shocking. Tissue alert!

Leave a Reply

